Buckeye Trio Geared Up for U.S. National Team Open Tryouts
March 1, 2017

RELATED INFO

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three members of The Ohio State University women’s volleyball program will travel to Colorado Springs, Colo., for the annual U.S. Women’s National Team Open Tryouts (March 3-5) at the U.S. Olympic Training Center. Brooke Bailey, Camry Halm and Taylor Hughes are set to represent the Scarlet & Gray while competing for the right to don the Stars & Stripes.

Event Website

The tryouts will evaluate 244 athletes from 84 colleges and 10 high schools from across the country for potential spots on the U.S. Women’s National Team and U.S. Collegiate National Team program. Further, select athletes born in 1998 or 1999 are also competing for spots on the 2017 U.S. Women’s Junior National Team.

The breakdown for the tryout includes 63 middles, 56 liberos, 54 outside hitters, 40 setters and 31 opposites.

U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Karch Kiraly and his staff will lead the tryout process which involves four sessions with three waves per session. Friday’s first session goes from 2-8 p.m. MT (4-10 p.m. ET), while Saturday’s sessions are at 8 a.m. MT (focus on serve/receive and individual work) and 2 p.m. MT (middle-centered and out-of-system focus). The final session on Sunday begins at 7:30 a.m. MT with tournament style play, along with 16-18 athletes selected by the U.S. Women’s National Team staff to participate in a “USA” training session.

 

 

All sessions of the tryout will be streamed live on the event website (link above).

BUCKEYE TRYOUT UNIFORM NUMBERS (Friday wave time)
Brooke Bailey – W56 (2 p.m. MT/4 p.m. ET)
Camry Halm – N17 (6 p.m. MT/8 p.m. ET)
Taylor Hughes – P65 (4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET)

Selected athletes for the U.S. Women’s National Team may begin their training in Anaheim, Calif., as early as the spring of 2017, or when an athlete’s scholastic or professional club season has concluded. The U.S. Collegiate National Team program has three competition options:
Tour of Thailand (12 athletes): May 19-30
Tour of Europe (12 athletes): July 5-16
USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships (projected 36 athletes): June 22-July 1 in Minneapolis

Selections for the U.S. Collegiate National Teams will be made by the end of March.