Manning Named Suzy Favor Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year

Go Buckeyes! Christina Manning is just the third Buckeye to win the Suzy Favor Award.
Go Buckeyes!
Christina Manning is just the third Buckeye to win the Suzy Favor Award.
Go Buckeyes!

June 18, 2012

VIDEO: Manning Interview | VIDEO: Coach Dennis Interview

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Christina Manning, a senior sprinter/hurdler on the Buckeye women's track and field team and a two-time NCAA champion in the 60 and 100m hurdles, has been awarded the 2012 Suzy Favor Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year award, the Big Ten Conference announced Monday evening. The Big Ten Athletes of the Year are selected by a panel of conference media members from nominations submitted by each institution.

Manning, who last week was named Ohio State's 2012 Female Athlete of the Year, is just the third Buckeye to win the Suzy Favor Award in school history, joining volleyball's Laura Davis in 1995 and women's basketball's Jessica Davenport in 2007.

"This is a tremendous honor for Christina, the women's track and field program and for The Ohio State University," head coach Karen Dennis said. "Christina has dedicated the year to improve as a sprinter/hurdler with emphasis to win the national championships and posture herself to be competitive at the Olympic Trials. I'm very proud of the manner in which she has challenged herself to be consistent in her training and focused in her competitions and I know she's proud of her achievements thus far. Christina is the quality of talent that comes along maybe once every decade and she's represented our track and field team and our university with humility, grace and the fierceness of champions we proudly produce here at The Ohio State University."

Manning had one of the best seasons in program history in 2012 and rewrote the Ohio State record books along the way. She claimed two NCAA national titles in the indoor 60m hurdles and outdoor 100m hurdles and also claimed All-America honors in the indoor 60m dash and outdoor 4x100m relay.



The 2012 Great Lakes Region Indoor and Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year, Manning claimed a total of six Big Ten championships in 2012. During the indoor championships she claimed gold medals in the 60m hurdles - in a Big Ten championship meet record time of 7.95 - and in the 60 and 200m dashes as Ohio State finished second overall. Then in the spring, she claimed three more individual titles and scored a grand total of 28 points as the Buckeyes won their second consecutive Big Ten outdoor title. Manning put on a show in Madison, Wis., last month at the outdoor championships, winning the 100m hurdles, 100m dash and 4x100m relay while placing second in the 200m dash.

Among her many other notable accomplishments this season, Manning set school records in the 60m dash (7.23), 60m hurdles (7.91), 100m hurdles (12.68) and 200m dash (23.43), posted a wind-aided time of 12.57 in the short hurdles at the Tom Jones Memorial, won Big Ten track athlete of the week five different times and was named Big Ten track athlete of the year during both the indoor and outdoor campaigns. Her school-record times in the 60 and 100m hurdles places her among the Top 5 in each event in the United States this year and her record 60m hurdle time ranks fourth all-time in the NCAA Division I record book. She was a top candidate for the Women's Bowerman Award - the top honor in collegiate track and field - and will compete at the U.S. Olympic Trials in the 100m hurdles in Eugene, Ore., later this month.

The Waldorf, Md., native leaves the Buckeye program as an 11-time All-American and 10-time Big Ten champion, while also owning school records in four individual events (60- and 200-meter dash and 60- and 100-meter hurdles) and two relays (4x100-meter and sprint medley).

Michigan State men's basketball player Draymond Green was the winner of the Jesse Owens Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year award.

The Big Ten Conference has recognized a Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year since 1982 when Indiana's Jim Spivey earned the inaugural award. The following year, a women's award was created. In 1991-92, as part of the celebration of the 10th anniversary of women's athletics in the conference, the women's award was renamed in honor of former Wisconsin track standout and three-time recipient Suzy Favor.

The complete list of all-time winners for each award can be found below.

1983 - Judi Brown, Michigan State, track and field
1984 - Lisa Ishikawa, Northwestern, softball
1985 - Cathy Branta, Wisconsin, cross country/track
1986 - Stephanie Herbst, Wisconsin, cross country/track
1987 - Jennifer Averill, Northwestern, field hockey/lacrosse
1988 - Suzy Favor, Wisconsin, track and field/cross country
1989 - Suzy Favor, Wisconsin, track and field/cross country
1990 - Suzy Favor, Wisconsin, track and field/cross country
1991 - Julie Farrell-Ovenhouse, Michigan State, diving (co)
1991 - Joy Holmes, Purdue, basketball (co)
1992 - MaChelle Joseph, Purdue, basketball
1993 - Lara Hooiveld, Michigan, swimming
1994 - Kristy Gleason, Iowa, field hockey
1995 - Laura Davis, Ohio State, volleyball
1996 - Olga Kalinovskaya, Penn State, fencing
1997 - Kathy Butler, Wisconsin, track and field (co)
1997 - Gretchen Hegener, Minnesota, swimming (co)
1998 - Sara Griffin, Michigan, softball
1999 - Stephanie White-McCarty, Purdue, basketball
2000 - Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State, volleyball
2001 - Katie Douglas, Purdue, basketball
2002 - Christie Welsh, Penn State, soccer
2003 - Perdita Felicien, Illinois, track and field
2004 - Kelly Mazzante, Penn State, basketball
2005 - Jennie Ritter, Michigan, softball
2006 - Tiffany Weimer, Penn State, soccer
2007 - Jessica Davenport, Ohio State, basketball
2008 - Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern, lacrosse
2009 - Maria Hernandez, Purdue, golf
2010 - Megan Hodge, Penn State, volleyball
2011 - Shannon Smith, Northwestern, lacrosse
2012 - Christina Manning, Ohio State, track and field

1982 - Jim Spivey, Indiana, track and field/cross country
1983 - Ed Banach, Iowa, wrestling
1984 - Sunder Nix, Indiana, track and field
1985 - Barry Davis, Iowa, wrestling
1986 - Chuck Long, Iowa, football
1987 - Steve Alford, Indiana, basketball
1988 - Jim Abbott, Michigan, baseball
1989 - Glen Rice, Michigan, basketball
1990 - Anthony Thompson, Indiana, football
1991 - Mike Barrowman, Michigan, swimming
1992 - Desmond Howard, Michigan, football
1993 - John Roethlisberger, Minnesota, gymnastics
1994 - Glenn Robinson, Purdue, basketball
1995 - Tom Dolan, Michigan, swimming
1996 - Eddie George, Ohio State, football
1997 - Blaine Wilson, Ohio State, gymnastics
1998 - Charles Woodson, Michigan, football
1999 - Luke Donald, Northwestern, golf
2000 - Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, football
2001 - Ryan Miller, Michigan State, ice hockey
2002 - Jordan Leopold, Minnesota, ice hockey
2003 - Amer Delic, Illinois, tennis (co)
2003 - Matt Lackey, Illinois, wrestling (co)
2004 - Damion Hahn, Minnesota, wrestling
2005 - Luis Vargas, Penn State, gymnastics
2006 - Peter Vanderkaay, Michigan, swimming
2007 - Cole Konrad, Minnesota, wrestling
2008 - Brent Metcalf, Iowa, wrestling
2009 - Jake Herbert, Northwestern, wrestling
2010 - Evan Turner, Ohio State, basketball
2011 - David Boudia, Purdue, diving
2012 - Draymond Green, Michigan State, basketball