Buckeyes Play Host to Jesse Owens Track Classic

Go Buckeyes! Aisha Cavin
Go Buckeyes!
Aisha Cavin
Go Buckeyes!

Heat Sheets Get Acrobat Reader


April 17, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Ohio State women's track and field team is set to host the 28th Jesse Owens Track Classic April 19-20 at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. More than 450 athletes are scheduled to compete in what is sure to be an exciting weekend of track and field in Columbus.

JOTC Quick Facts
Days: Friday, April 19 (4:00 p.m. - 9:40 p.m.) and Saturday, April 20 (10:30 a.m. - 4:40 p.m.)
Venue: Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium
Live Results: www.finishtiming.com; www.twitter.com/OhioState_MTRK        
Admission: Free

About the JOTC
Like the "J.O. Classics" of the past, the 2013 edition will serve as a stage for scholastic, collegiate and post-collegiate athletes to perform at their highest levels in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. In its history, the Jesse Owens Track Classic has served as a top venue for many future and former Olympians. Current and past record holders for the Jesse Owens Track Classic include Olympic medalists John Drummond, Michelle Finn, Allen Johnson, Edwin Moses, Dwight Stones and former Buckeyes Diane Dixon, Joe Greene and Butch Reynolds. Others of Olympic fame include Judi Brown, Roger Kingdom, Carl Lewis, Louise Ritter and Calvin Smith, as well as past OSU Olympians Mark Croghan and Stephanie Hightower.

Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium
Located on Fred Taylor Drive, north of Lane Avenue, the 10,000-seat Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium is one of the finest multi-sport facilities in the country, hosting track and field and lacrosse in the spring and soccer in the fall. It serves as a cornerstone to the surrounding Ohio State athletic complex that features the Woody Hayes Athletic Center, softball's Buckeye Field, field hockey's Buckeye Varsity Field, Bill Davis Stadium and the 19,200-seat Jerome Schottenstein Center.

Buckeyes No. 47 in USTFCCCA Week Four Rankings; Fourth in Regional Poll
Ohio State checked-in at No. 47 in the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) team rankings for Division I, released April 16.

Seven Big Ten teams are featured in the Top 50: No. 18 Illinois, No. 22 Nebraska, No. 25 Penn State, No. 29 Michigan State, No. 38 Wisconsin, the Buckeyes, and No. 48 Michigan. Kansas is the No. 1-ranked team in the country, followed by No. 2 Texas A&M and third-ranked Oregon.

In the Great Lakes regional rankings, Ohio State jumped two spots to No. 4. Notre Dame is the top-ranked team in the region followed by Michigan, Michigan State, the Buckeyes, and Kent State.

For more information on the USTFCCCA rankings, visit www.ustfccca.org.

Former Buckeye Kelcey McKinney Honored at Scholar-Athlete Dinner
Kelcey McKinney, a 2012 graduate of The Ohio State University, was presented the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award at the Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner April 1 at the Ohio Union.

Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

McKinney is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, as well as the 2011 Big Ten champion in the triple jump and a two-time All-Big Ten performer.

As a team, Ohio State had a total of 28 student-athletes honored as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.

Buckeyes in the Individual Top 25
Two members of the women's track and field team are ranked within the Top 25 in their respective event areas nationally according to Track & Field Results Reporting System (www.TFRRS.org). A look at where the Buckeyes sit:

• Alexis Thomas - No. 10 in the hammer throw
• Alexis Franklin - No. 14 in the 400m hurdles

Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter!
The women's track and field and cross country programs are on Facebook and Twitter. Visit www.facebook.com/OSUwtrackXC  and www.twitter.com/OhioState_WTRK to get the latest news and notes on the Buckeyes.

Last Time Out
The Buckeyes dominated their in-state rivals at the 2013 All-Ohio Championships in Athens, Ohio, April 13, amassing 212 team points to capture an impressive team victory. Kent State was a distant second with 148 points.

OSU enjoyed strong contributions from all event areas, but the sprints, hurdles and short distance athletes led the charge as the Buckeyes captured victories in the 100m, 400m and 800m dashes, as well as the 100m hurdles. Standout performers included senior Christienne Linton, a winner in the 100m hurdles and bronze medalist in the 100m dash, and freshman SoSo Walker, who placed first in the 400m and third in the 200m. Thomas led the way in the field, winning the hammer throw for the second week in row behind an impressive 62.55m (205-2.50) heave.

Up Next
Ohio State will compete at the Drake Relays April 25-27 in Des Moines, Iowa.