Cousar, McGinnis and Linton qualify for quarterfinals in Jacksonville

Go Buckeyes! Nyjah Cousar
Go Buckeyes!
Nyjah Cousar
Go Buckeyes!

May 25, 2012

Day One Results 

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - The No. 22 Ohio State women's track and field team began competition in Jacksonville at the 2012 NCAA East Regional Prelims Thursday with Buckeyes competing in several qualifying events.

Nyjah Cousar will represent Ohio State in the next round of the 400m hurdles after placing seventh overall in the prelims. Cousar used a time of 58.18 to take second in her heat. Tennessee's Ellen Wortham will enter the next round with the top time of 55.66. Qualifying in the 400m dash was Shaniqua McGinnis whose time of 53.31 led her to a 12th-place finish. Cousar (54.91) also ran in the 400m dash but did not qualify. Marlena Wesh from Clemson ran a 52.46 for the fastest prelim time. The quarterfinals for the 400m dash are Friday at 6:15 p.m. ET and the quarterfinals for the 400m hurdles will be run at 7:45 p.m. 

Of the three Buckeyes that competed Thursday in the 100m dash, Christienne Linton (11.61) will be the only member of the Scarlet and Gray competing in the next round. Linton's time was good enough to take 13th overall. Chesna Sykes (11.85) narrowly missed the cut placing 29th. Madison McNary crossed the line in 12.44. UCF's sprinting duo of Aurieyall Scott (11.25) and Octavious Freeman (11.29) placed 1-2 in the prelims. Linton's quarterfinals race will begin Friday at 6:45 p.m.

In the shot put, Norianna Brown failed to make the cut after throwing for 15.26m (50-0.75). Brown was the only Buckeye in the event and placed 19th. Louisville's Khadija Abdullah (17.12m/56-2) will lead the qualifiers into the next round. Maggie Mullen will not move forward in the javelin. Mullen used a mark of 42.47m (140-2) in her last collegiate javelin event for 20th place. Fellow Big Ten student-athlete Lauren Kinney from Penn State holds the leading mark of 49.65m (162-10).



Buckeyes will take to the track all throughout the day Friday with field events for the meet starting at 11:00 a.m. and running events beginning at 5:30 p.m.