Ohio State Claims First Team Victory of the Season

Oct. 3, 2015


FORT MYERS, Fla. – Ohio State won its first meet of the season on Saturday, taking home first place in the inaugural FGCU Eagle Swimming Classic.

The Buckeyes entered the day with a slim one-point lead over Florida Gulf Coast, but quickly relinquished that advantage after the first event of the day, the 400 IM relay. The Eagles would sweep that event and the next as well to jump out ahead of Ohio State by 16.5 points.

Lindsay Clary notched the first victory of the day for Ohio State in the 500 freestyle; her time of 4:52.75 in the championship final was nearly six seconds faster than anyone else. Taylor Vargo’s victory in the 200 breaststroke (2:16.24) helped close that gap between the Buckeyes and FGCU.

In the next two events, the 100 backstroke and 100 freestyle, an Ohio State swimmer finished ahead of an FGCU swimmer in both the championship and consolation finals, earning critical points in the Buckeyes’ favor. In the 100 backstroke Zulal Zeren earned a win in the consolation final with a time of 55.82. Liz Li (50.04) and Annie Jongekrijg (51.58) finished in first place in the 100 freestyle, putting Ohio State just a half-point behind hosts FGCU.

In the second-to-last event of the meet, Clary (2:02.72) and Meg Bailey (2:04.87) won the 200 IM to put their team back on top. In the final event of the weekend, the 200 freestyle relay, the Buckeyes won both heats to clinch their first team win of the season. Cara Norris, Kaitlyn Ferrara, Taylor Vargo, and Camey Rabold (1:37.01) all contributed to the victory in the consolation final, while Jongekrijg, Rachael Dzierzak, Cheyenne Meek, and Li (1:32.85) all swam in the championship final.



Next weekend will be the annual Scarlet and Gray and Alumni meets, with the Buckeyes next competing on October 30 against Kenyon.

Team Scores:

Ohio State, 410                 Florida Gulf Coast, 394.5

South Carolina, 346         Rutgers, 297.5

Buffalo, 258                        Grand Canyon, 247


Ohio State’s Top Finishes: 500 freestyle A – 1. Lindsey Clary (4:52.75); 200 breaststroke A – 1. Taylor Vargo (2:16.24); 100 Backstroke B – 1. Zulal Zeren (55.82); 100 Freestyle B – 1. Annie Jongekrijg (51.58); 100 Freestyle A – 1. Liz Li (50.04); 200 IM B – 1. Meg Bailey (2:04.87); 200 IM – 1. Lindsey Clary (2:02.72); 200 Freestyle Relay B – 1. Norris/Ferrera/Vargo/Rabold (1:37.01); 200 Freestyle Relay A – 1. Jongekrijg/Dzierzak/Meek/Li (1:32.85)