Nine Invited To NCAAs

Go Buckeyes! Championships March 15-17
Go Buckeyes!
Championships March 15-17
Go Buckeyes!

March 2, 2012

Nine Ohio State swimmers have received invitations to compete in the NCAA championships March 15-17 at Auburn. Ohio State is 14th in the latest CSCAA rankings and posted a 10-0 dual-meet record before finishing third at the Big Ten championships.

Among the 64 schools sending swimmers to the NCAA competition, Ohio State stands among the Top 15 in the number of participants with nine competing, the same number of entrants as No. 8 Stanford and No. 10 Tennessee. With 16 invitees, No. 5 Georgia has the most swimmers competing.

Representing the Buckeyes will be: • Kelly Ann Baird: 1650 free • Phoebe Cater: 400 free relay • Emily Creran: 200 back • Megan Detro: 100 free; 200 medley relay; 400 free relay • Shannon Draves: 100 fly; 200 fly; 200 medley relay • Kelsey Moran: 100 back; 200 medley relay • Alex Norris: 400 free relay • Angela Severn: 200 medley relay • Michelle Williams: 100 free; 400 free relay

"Stefanie (Williams, associate head coach) and I are thrilled to have a strong contingent representing Ohio State at the NCAAs. This is the pinnacle of the collegiate season as well as the fastest short course meet in the world. To be invited is an honor," says head coach Bill Dorenkott.



"Our team improvement on all levels has been extraordinary. Our women are passionate, committed and prepared to take the next step on the national stage.

"We believe that our fastest swimming of the year is in front of us and cannot wait to get down to Auburn and race."

The list of nine invitees continues a steady climb for the Buckeyes in NCAA participation. In 2009, Dorenkott and Williams' first season at Ohio State, the Buckeyes had no NCAA swimming qualifiers. That number improved to three competitors in 2010, five in 2011 and now, nine this season.

Ohio State's divers, who won all three diving events at the Big Ten championships, compete at the NCAA Zone Meet next weekend for the opportunity to qualify for the NCAA Championships.