Draves Big Ten Champion In 200 Fly; Cousineau Wins Platform

Go Buckeyes! Shannon Draves
Go Buckeyes!
Shannon Draves
Go Buckeyes!

Feb. 18, 2012

Big Ten final results Get Acrobat Reader

Iowa City, Iowa - Ohio State placed third overall in the 2012 Big Ten women's swimming and diving championships that finished Saturday at Iowa, 149 points ahead of fourth-place Wisconsin.

Team scoring: Minnesota 680.5; Indiana 651; Ohio State 560; Wisconsin 411; Penn State 379.5; Purdue 285; Northwestern 258; Michigan 241; Iowa 201; Illinois 84; Nebraska 82; Michigan State 65.

Buckeye Shannon Draves brought home Ohio State's third individual title of the championships, winning the 200 butterfly in an Ohio State- and pool-record time of 1:56.35. Darcy Fishback was also a scorer in that event, placing 14th in a time of 2:01.38.

Cheyenne Cousineau completed a Buckeye sweep of the diving events, winning the 10-meter platform competition with a score of 326.10. Ohio State's Kristen Asman was ninth on the platform (285.90); Bianca Alvarez, who won both the 1-meter and 3-meter titles earlier this week, was tenth (282.55). Veteran mentor Vince Panzano was named the diving coach of the year.

In the 100 freestyle, Ohio State's Michelle Williams (48.57) and Megan Detro (48.73) finished second and third, behind winner Rebecca Thompson of Wisconsin (48.28).

Emily Creran was the Big Ten runner-up in the 200 backstroke, finishing in a time of 1:54.40, just behind winner Tess Behrens of Minnesota (1:53.54). Buckeyes Kristyn Fulcher (1:59.10), Kelsey Moran (1:59.13) and Lauren Massey (1:59.50) placed 14th, 15th and 16th, each adding to the team point total. In the 200 back `C' final, Lauren Davis and Mary Sarah Cruzan both achieved NCAA cut times of 1:59.23.

Kelly Ann Baird placed seventh in the timed finals of the 1650 freestyle, swimming that event in 16:15.20. Natalie Nichols was also a point scorer in the 1650 free in a time of 16:32.79, placing 16th. Angela Severn was the Buckeyes' only scorer in the 200 breaststroke, placing 16th (2:16.59). Ashley Vance was 23rd in a time of 2:17.14.

The Buckeyes finished fourth in the 400 free relay, with Michelle Williams, Megan Detro, Phoebe Cater and Alex Norris swimming that race in 3:17.20.

Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Saturday, Feb. 18, 2012 Iowa City, Iowa Campus Recreation and Wellness Center

Event Winners:

1650 freestyle: 1) Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana (16:00.44); 7) Kelly Ann Baird, Ohio State (16:15.20).

200 backstroke: 1) Tess Behrens, Minnesota (1:53.54); 2) Emily Creran, Ohio State (1:54.40)

100 freestyle: 1) Rebecca Thompson, Wisconsin (48.28); 2) Michelle Williams, Ohio State (48.57)

200 breaststroke: 1) Haley Spencer, Minnesota (2:07.58); 16) Angela Severn, Ohio State (2:16.59)

200 butterfly: 1) Shannon Draves, Ohio State (1:56.35, OSU record)

10-meter platform diving: 1) Cheyenne Cousineau, Ohio State (326.10)

400 free relay: 1) Wisconsin (3:16.12); 4) Ohio State: Michelle Williams, Megan Detro, Phoebe Cater, Alex Norris (3:17.20)