Alvarez Big Ten Diving Champion

Go Buckeyes! Big Ten champion Bianca Alvarez
Go Buckeyes!
Big Ten champion Bianca Alvarez
Go Buckeyes!

Feb. 16, 2012

Thursday results Get Acrobat Reader

Iowa City, Iowa - The Ohio State women's swimming and diving team continued its strong start at the Big Ten Championships during the second day of competition in Iowa. The Buckeyes are in second place in the team standings with 222 points, just 13 behind leader Minnesota (235). Indiana (203) is third and Wisconsin is fourth (174) after Thursday's events.

Senior Bianca Alvarez took the Big Ten title in the 1-meter diving event. Alvarez posted an impressive score of 360.65 in the finals to claim her first title after recording two seconds and two thirds at previous Big Ten championship meets. Ohio State also took third on the 1-meter as sophomore Cheyenne Cousineau scored a 332.55 to give the Buckeyes two of the Top 3 spots. Senior Kristen Asman and freshman Taylor Ford also competed, placing ninth and 20th, respectively.

The Buckeye swimmers began the night by posting a new school record in the 200 freestyle relay. The team of Michelle Williams, Megan Detro, Phoebe Cater and Jackie Brousseau came away with the record-breaking time of 1:30.04, finishing runner-up to Wisconsin.

Sophomore Kelly Ann Baird swam to an eighth-place finish in the championship final of the 500 freestyle in a time of 4:45.54. In the consolation final, junior Kelly Titus recorded a time of 4:45. 46 resulting in an 11th-place finish, while sophomore Alex Norris followed closely with a 4:45.66 to take 13th. Senior Natalie Nichols finished 19th in a time of 4:48.83.

In the 200 IM, junior Emily Creran took seventh place in 1:59.56, with teammate Ashley Vance following in eighth in a time of 2:00.65. Competing the consolation final, senior Lisa Narum placed 13th (2:00.45), and junior Angela Severn took 14th (2:00.62). Sophomore Kristyn Fulcher also competed for the Buckeyes, placing 18th in 2:01.32.

In the last event of the night, Williams and Detro took fifth and sixth in the 50 freestyle, respectively. Williams placed in a time of 22.68, while Detro recorded a 22.72. Brousseau finished 16th in a time of 23.31.

Ohio State will return to the Big Ten Championships tomorrow for prelims beginning at 11 a.m. and finals starting at 6:30 p.m. Live results can once again be followed at

Women's Swimming & Diving Thursday, Feb. 16, 2012 Iowa City, Iowa Campus Recreation and Wellness Center

Event Winners:

200 freestyle relay: 1) Wisconsin (1:28.46), 2) Ohio State: Michelle Williams, Megan Detro, Phoebe Cater, Jackie Brousseau (1:30.04, OSU record)

500 freestyle: 1) Minnesota: Ashley Steenvoorden (4:38.00); 8) Kelly Ann Baird (4:45.54); 11) Kelly Titus (4:45.56); 13) Alex Norris (4:45.66); 19) Natalie Nichols (4:48.83)

200 IM: 1) Indiana: Allysa Vavra (1:55.44); 7) Emily Creran (1:59.56); 8) Ashley Vance (2:00.65); 13) Lisa Narum (2:00.45); 14) Angela Severn (2:00.62); 18) Kristyn Fulcher (2:01.32)

50 freestyle: 1) Rebecca Thompson: Wisconsin (22.04); 5) Michelle Williams (22.68); 6) Megan Detro (22.72); 16) Jackie Brousseau (23.31)

1-meter diving: 1) Bianca Alvarez (360.65); 3) Cheyenne Cousineau (332.55); 9) Kristen Asman (311.30); 20) Taylor Ford (262.60)