More Buckeye Records Fall on Day Three of Big Tens

Vance and Dzierzak
Vance and Dzierzak
Feb. 20, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Junior Rachael Dzierzak earned a school record in the 100 breaststroke, while sophomore standout Lindsey Clary dropped her own Ohio State record in the 400 individual medley to highlight the Buckeyes’ third day of action at the 2015 Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships. Ohio State and its Big Ten counterparts return to McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on Saturday for the final day of competition. Prelims are scheduled for 11 a.m. and finals will commence at 6:30 p.m.

Minnesota remains on top the team leaderboard with 421.5 points. The Hoosiers of Indiana claimed second from now third-place Michigan, while Wisconsin, Purdue and Ohio State round out the Top 6.

Ohio State’s 400 medley relay quartet of freshman Zhesi Li, Dzierzak, senior Aliena Schmidtke and junior Annie Jongekrijg began finals with a podium finish. Earning an automatic NCAA qualifying mark, the Buckeyes clocked a time of 3:34.10 for third.

“If you looked at the hundreds of strokes today, I think we probably exceeded my expectations in the 400 medley as we swam to an NCAA ‘A’ cut time,” Ohio State head women’s swimming coach Bill Dorenkott said. “At the end of the day, we had four very strong legs that finished the race.” 

Clary followed it up with a second-place showing in the 400 individual medley, dropping her school record to 4:08.07. She shredded her preliminary time by nearly two seconds in the event. Junior Annie Gillig also improved in finals, touching with a time of 4:15.30 in the bonus consolation; veteran Lauren Davis followed with a time of 4:20.60. In prelims, freshman Meg Bailey cut nearly two seconds off her season-best time with a 4:25.89, while her classmate Amanda McNulty posted a 4:31.41. McNulty also competed in prelims of the 100 butterfly, touching in 57.08.

In the championship final of the 100 butterfly, Schmidtke placed fifth in a time of 52.43. A closely contested race, the Magdeburg, Germany native finished just off former Buckeye Shannon Drave’s school record time of 52.29. Sophomore Annelise Sprau touched in a time of 54.83 in the bonus consolation final. In prelims, Sprau posted a season-best mark of 54.71.  

Two Buckeyes earned a spot in the championship final of the 100 breaststroke and certainly didn’t disappoint during the evening session. Dzierzak became the first Buckeye to break the one-minute barrier, swimming to an Ohio State record time of 59.61 for second. Following in fifth was senior Ashley Vance, who registered a personal-best of 1:00.68. Sophomores Amy Bopp and Taylor Vargo both improved their times in finals, placing 13th and 14th, respectively. Their classmate Maren Reeder competed in the bonus consolation, finishing in 1:02.54.

“Rachael is in a real great place and she’s worked so hard,” Dorenkott said. “She is more than deserving of this honor. I’m not sure if I’m more proud of her performance this weekend, or how she has handled her rigorous academic schedule, as well as balancing elite-level swimming.

“Both Lindsey and Ashley had season best times,” Dorenkott continued. “They work hard, are focused and always on task. It’s good for our up-and-coming athletes to have girls such as them to look up to and realize that this didn’t happen over night. I know Lindsey cut at least 10 seconds off her time from Big Tens last year, and Ashley has been swimming the 100 breaststroke at Big Tens since she was a freshman.”

Ohio State qualified two divers – Taylor Ford and Brittany Menninger - for the championship final of the 3-meter springboard event. Ford, a senior this season, earned a total score of 340.10 to claim fifth in the standings. Rookie Brittany Menninger placed seventh with a score of 317.95. Ohio State was one of only two schools with multiple divers represented in the championship session.

In the 100 backstroke, Li earned fifth in the championship final with a time of 53.08. Her teammates Camey Rabold, Zulal Zeren and Erin Dunseith suited up in the bonus consolation final of the event, with Rabold and Zeren achieving season-best times.

All eight Buckeyes who competed in prelims of the 200 freestyle posted season-best marks. Junior Katy Lunchansky, sophomore Kaitlyn Ferrara, Jongekrijg, sophomore Chanel Wynn and freshman Kathleen Cook placed among the conference’s Top 50. Three rookies – Paige Kelly, McNichols and Cheyenne Meek also represented Ohio State in the event. 

Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships
Friday, Feb. 20, 2015
Columbus, Ohio
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Team Scores: 1. Minnesota (421.5); 2. Indiana (374); 3. Michigan (331.5); 4. Wisconsin (299); 5. Purdue (261); 6. Ohio State (250); 7. Penn State (224); 8. Iowa (153); 9. Northwestern (106); 10. Nebraska (105); 11. Rutgers (92); 12. Nebraska (105); 13. Michigan State (57).

Diving Results (Day Three): 3-Meter – 1. Minnesota (411.55), 5. Ford – OSU (340.10). 

Diving Results (Day Two): 1-Meter – 1. Minnesota (365.00), 23. Ford – OSU (249.15). 

Race Results (Day Three): 400 Medley Relay – 1. Wisconsin (3:33.27), 3. Li, Dzierzak, Schmidtke and Jongekrijg – OSU (3:34.10); 400 IM – 1. Minnesota (4:03.28), 2. Clary – OSU (4:08.07); 100 Butterfly – 1. Wisconsin (52.01), 5. Schmidtke – OSU (52.43); 100 Breaststroke – 1. Minnesota (59.32), 2. Dzierzak – OSU (59.61); 100 Backstroke – 1. Indiana (51.51), 5. Li – OSU (53.08); 200 Free – 1. Indiana (1:44.15), 37. Jongekrijg – OSU (1:49.62). 

Race Results (Day Two): 200 Freestyle Relay – 1. Wisconsin (1:27.70), 4. Li, Jongekrijg, McNichols, Dzierzak - OSU (1:29.41); 500 freestyle – 1. Indiana (4:37.83), 22. Ferrara – OSU (4:50.99); 200 IM – 1. Michigan (1:56.74), 2. Vance – OSU (1:57.26); 50 Freestyle – 1. Wisconsin (21.65), 2. Li – OSU (22.13). 

Race Results (Day One): 200 Medley Relay – 1. Wisconsin (1:36.82), 3. Li, Vance, Sprau, Jongekrijg – OSU, (1:37.55); 800 Freestyle Relay – 1. Indiana (6:59.10), 12. Gillig, Cook, Luchansky, Schmidtke – OSU, (7:16.16).

Ohio State School Records: 200 Medley Relay – Li, Vance, Sprau, Jongekrijg (1:37.55); 50 Freestyle – Li (22.03); 200 Freestyle Relay – Li, Jongekrijg, McNichols, Dzierzak (1:29.41); 400 IM – Clary (4:08.07); 100 Breaststroke – Dzierzak (59.61).