SB: Herron, Pickett Named Third Team All-Big Ten Selections

Go Buckeyes! Alicia Herron
Go Buckeyes!
Alicia Herron
Go Buckeyes!

May 16, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State senior shortstop Alicia Herron and freshman catcher Shelby Pickett were named third team All-Big Ten selections, the league office announced Wednesday. Herron, a native of Cypress, Calif., becomes the sixth Buckeye in Ohio State softball history to earn four-consecutive league honors, while Pickett claims her first career conference accolade.

Herron and Pickett are joined by junior third baseman Megan Coletta, who was named the 2012 Ohio State Sportsmanship honoree. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes also must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

After being named a first team selection as a sophomore, second team as a freshman and third team as a junior, Herron concluded her OSU career leading the Buckeyes this year in multiple offensive categories. In conference action, she led Big Ten shortstops in home runs (6), walks (26), slugging percentage (.667) and on-base percentage (.552).

Overall, Herron led the Buckeyes in batting average (.378), runs scored (48), triples (4), home runs (14), RBI (48), slugging percentage (.800), walks (52), on-base percentage (.569) and stolen bases (14).

In league play, Pickett, a native of Temecula, Calif., led Big Ten catchers in batting average (.300) and was second in runs scored (8) and fourth in hits (15). In the last four conference series, Pickett batted .353 with 12 hits, a double, a triple, a home run and three RBI with a .529 slugging percentage behind the plate for the Scarlet and Gray.



First Team
C – Liz Watkins, Sr., IOWA
1B – Amanda Chidester, Sr. MICH
2B – Whitney Massey, Jr., WIS
SS – Megan Blank, Fr., IOWA
3B – Marisa Bast, So., NU
OF – Kylene Hopkins, Jr., MSU
OF – Kendall Grimm, Jr., WIS
UT – Sara Driesenga, Fr., MICH
DP – Shannon Cawley, Fr., IND
P – Kayla Massey, So., IOWA

Second Team*(Additional Honorees Due to Tie)
C – Kasie Hatfield, So., PSU
1B – Adrienne Monka, Jr., NU
2B – Courtney Breault, Jr., NEB
SS – Emily Allard, Jr., NU
3B – Amanda Wagner, Jr., IND
OF – Brooke Thomason, Jr., NEB
OF – Bree Evans, Sr., MICH
OF – Nicole Sappingfield, So., MICH
UT – Amy Letourneau, Fr., NU
DP – Michelle Zoeller, So., DP
P – Pepper Gay, Jr., ILL
P – Ashley Hagemann, Sr., NEB
P – Cassandra Darrah, So., WIS

Third Team
C– Cassie Gogreve, Sr., IND
OF – Johnnie Dowling, Jr., IOWA
2B – Ashley Lane, Jr., MICH
P – Sara Moulton, So., MINN
SS – Tyler Walker, Fr., MINN
3B – Gabby Banda, Jr., NEB
UT – Tatum Edwards, So., NEB
SS – Alicia Herron, Sr., OSU
C – Shelby Pickett, Fr., OSU

1B – Ashley Courtney, Jr., PUR
DP – Karla Powell, Sr., WIS

Player of the Year: Amanda Chidester, MICH
Pitcher of the Year:
Freshman of the Year:
Haylie Wagner, MICH
Coach of the Year:
Carol Hutchins, MICH

Sportsmanship Honorees
Kelley Wedel, ILL; Amanda Wagner, IND; Katie Keim, IOWA; Caitlin Blanchard, MICH; Lori Padilla, MSU;
Dannie Skrove; MINN; Ashley Guile, NEB; Mari Majam, NU; Megan Coletta, OSU; Danee Collett, PSU;Ashley Courtney, PUR; Stephanie Peace, WIS