All-Tournament Performers Named for The Ohio State Tournament

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

Sept. 18, 2002

Columbus, Ohio - The All-Tournament Team for the 2002 Ohio State Tournament was announced Wednesday, September 18, 2002 with three Buckeyes earning accolades for their performances this weekend.

Ohio State, which split its two games during the home opening series, was led by Tournament Offensive Most Valuable Player sophomore forward Lisa Grubb (Portage, Mich.), who recorded the game winning goal in Ohio State's 1-0 victory over Pittsburgh on Sunday. Grubb spent the entire weekend in the opponent's zone as she compiled five shots on goal in the two weekend matches.

Also receiving honors for the OSU were senior defender Jen Miller (Centerville, Ohio) and freshman forward Colleen Hoban (Strongsville, Ohio). Miller scored the lone Buckeye goal in Friday night's tough 3-1 loss to Missouri and led a Buckeye defense that held its opponents to just six shots on goal during the tournament. Hoban recorded five shots in tournament play and assisted Grubb on Sunday's game winner.

Missouri, which won both of its contests this weekend, led all squads with four honorees, including Tournament Defensive MVP goalkeeper Megan Duncan, who tallied nine saves and allowed just one goal over her two matches.

Others receiving mention for Missouri were sophomore defender Ashley Gibbs, sophomore midfielder Lacy Moore and freshman forward Amber Swinehart, who led all tournament scorers with two points on one goal and one assist.

Three members of the Bowling Green squad earned All-Tournament recognition, senior goaltender Erika Flanders, sophomore defender Beth Reiman and freshman midfielder Leah Eggleton. Flanders tied Duncan four the tournament lead with nine saves, while Reiman and Eggleton totaled two shots.

Earning honors for the Pittsburgh Panthers was senior defender Jacqueline Fix.