Women's Soccer Duo Named to M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

Aug. 25, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State women's soccer tandem Lara Dickenmann and Melissa Miller were named to the 2005 Missouri Athletic Club's (M.A.C.) Hermann Trophy watch list, the National Soccer Coaches Association of American (NSCAA) announced Wednesday. The award honors the top female student-athlete who represents the highest level of individual achievement in collegiate soccer.

"I feel honored to be on the list," Dickenmann said. "It is a little surprising and overwhelming."

"It is really exciting to be up for a great honor like this," Miller said. "It is something I would never expect."

The 25-player watch list will be narrowed down to 15 semifinalists by representatives from each Division I conference in early November and three finalists will be announced in December by Division I coaches who are members of the NSCAA. The trio will attend the Jan. 6, 2006 banquet held by the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, where the winner will be revealed.

In 2004, Dickenmann (So., Kriens, Switzerland/Kries) rewrote the program's record book, becoming the all-time single-season leader in goals (13), assists (12) and points (38). Dickenmann, who earned SoccerBuzz.com First Team All-America and All-Freshman team laurels last season, helped the Buckeyes post their best record in team history at 19-4-3.

Miller (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio/Kolping BenGals), who started all 26 contests in the backfield for the Buckeyes in 2004, was a part of a Buckeye defense that posted a record-low 0.67 goals against average. The Colerain High School graduate also was a second-team All-Big Ten selection and a NSCAA/adidas All-America second team recipient last season.

Playing their first four regular season games on the road, the Buckeyes travel to Kent, Ohio, where they will face Kent State at 4 p.m. Friday at Kent State Soccer Field. Ohio State then will face Xavier at 1 p.m. Sunday at Xavier University Soccer Complex in Cincinnati, Ohio. 2005 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Ronda BrooksJr.AuburnMarietta, Ga.
Jen BuczkowskiJr.Notre DameElk Grove, Ill.
Lori ChalupnySr.North CarolinaSt. Louis, Mo.
Candace ChapmanSr.Notre DameAjax, Ontario
Lara DickenmannSo.Ohio StateKries, Switzerland
Holly GaultJr.KansasSpring Hill, Kan.
Sarah HuffmanSr.VirginiaFlower Mound, Texas
Lindsey HuieSr.PortlandMission Viejo, Calif.
Hayley HuntSr.StanfordSan Marino, Calif.
Natalie JacobsSr.Penn StateCentreville, Va.
Diana MathesonSo.PrincetonOakville, Ontario
Erin McLeodSr.Penn StateVancouver, B.C.
Melissa MillerJr.Ohio StateCincinnati, Ohio
Iris MoraSr.UCLACancun, Mexico
Fran MunnellySr.ColoradoArvada, Colo.
Jill OakesSr.UCLAWest Hills, Calif.
Heather O'ReillyJr.North CarolinaEast Brunswick, N.J.
Kelly RowlandJr.Florida StateWallingford, Pa.
Christine SinclairSr.PortlandBurnaby, B.C.
Caroline SmithSr.KansasEdina, Minn.
Kati Jo SpisakSr.Texas A&MManchester, Mo.
Lindsay TarpleySr.North CarolinaKalamazoo, Mich.
Katie ThorlaksonSr.Notre DameLangley, B.C.
Brittany TimkoJr.NebraskaCoquitlam, B.C.
Tiffany WeimerSr.Penn StateNorth Haven, Conn.