Buckeyes Travel to Pittsburgh for Thursday Afternoon Scrimmage
Aug. 10, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 23 Ohio State women’s soccer team travels to Pittsburgh for an exhibition match to open the 2016 season at 1 p.m. Thursday.

The Last Meeting
Ohio State2
August 28, 2013
Columbus, Ohio
Buckeyes Remain Unbeaten with 2-0 Win over Pittsburgh
The Ohio State women's soccer team topped Pittsburgh, 2-0, Wednesday evening at Bert L. & Iris S. Wolstein Field at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium

The Buckeyes, under the direction of 20th-year head coach Lori Walker, return 10 starters and 20 letterwinners off last year’s team that finished 13-7-3 and advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16, marking Ohio State’s sixth NCAA Tournament in the last seven years. Forward Nichelle Prince, who currently is representing Canada at the Olympics in Brazil, will return after scoring a team-best six goals while tying for the team lead with seven assists. Midfielder Nikki Walts and forward Lindsay Agnew also will be back after combining for nine goals and 14 assists a year ago. In all, the Buckeyes welcome back players who accounted for 79 percent of the goals and 91 percent of the assists from 2015.



The Buckeyes’ schedule includes nine matches at Bert L. & Iris S. Wolstein Field at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium this season with the home opener against Kent State set for 7 p.m. Aug. 19. Admission is free to all Ohio State women’s soccer home games.

Ohio State is under the direction of 20th-year head coach Lori Walker. She has guided the team to 10 NCAA Tournament berths (2002-03-04-07-09-10-11-12-13-15), a Big Ten regular season championship (2010) and three Big Ten Tournament championships (2002, 2004, 2012). Her record at Ohio State is 215-148-37 and her career record, including two seasons at Kansas, is 228-171-38.

Associate head coach Chris McLain is in his second season while Daniel Clitnovici enters his first season as an assistant coach with the Buckeyes.

Ohio State opens the regular season against Kent State at 7 p.m. Aug. 19 at Bert L. & Iris S. Wolstein Field at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.