Emily Francis Named Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award Recipient

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

May 24, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Emily Francis, a standout defender for the Ohio State women's soccer team from 2003-2006, was one of four recipients of the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award at the Ohio State Scholar-Athlete banquet Wednesday night.

"It is an incredible honor for me to receive this award and it really means so much to me," Francis, a native of Alliance, Ohio, said. "There are so many great students and student-athletes who go through the Fisher College of Business and to be recognized as one of the best is very humbling. It really brings meaning to both my hard work on and off the field."

Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

During her four years with the Buckeyes, Francis started 82 of a possible 84 matches and was a part of an OSU backline that posted program-bests in goals allowed and goals-against average for two-consecutive seasons. As a freshman in 2003, Francis and the defense limited their opponents to 17 goals in 21 games and recorded a GAA of 0.77. The following season in 2004, the Buckeye backline allowed just 18 goals in 26 matches and owned a GAA of 0.67.

Academically, Francis is a three-time All-Big Ten honoree and four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Francis also was a 2006 NSCAA/adidas College Women Scholar Award East Regional third-team recipient.