Buckeyes Release 2015 Schedule

Lori Walker
Lori Walker
April 8, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The Ohio State women's soccer team has released its 2015 schedule, head coach Lori Walker announced Wednesday. The Buckeyes will face eight NCAA tournament teams from last season, including five in Columbus.

"Our 2015 schedule has a very strong blend and variety of opponents," Walker said. "We are excited to add home-and-home series with West Virginia, Florida and Texas. These are three programs with strong traditions and unique styles. Each game will challenge our team to solve very different problems and prepare us for Big Ten play. The strength of this schedule will continue to position the Buckeyes for postseason play." 

Ohio State hosts Wake Forest in a scrimmage Aug. 15 before opening the season against reigning Missouri Valley Conference tournament champion Illinois State Aug. 21 and NCAA quarterfinalist Florida Aug. 23 in Columbus. The Buckeyes travel to Dayton, the 2014 Atlantic 10 Tournament champion, Aug. 27 before taking on NCAA tournament participant Texas Aug. 30 in Austin. After hosting Florida International Sept. 3, the Buckeyes welcome reigning Big 12 regular season and tournament champion West Virginia to Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium Sept. 11 and conclude non-conference play against Bucknell Sept. 13.



The Buckeyes open Big Ten play against Minnesota Sept. 17 and take on 2014 Big Ten Tournament champion Wisconsin Sept. 20 in Columbus. Road contests at Iowa Sept. 25, at Nebraska Sept. 27 and at Illinois Oct. 2 follow before Ohio State hosts Purdue Oct. 8 and Maryland Oct. 11. The Buckeyes travel to face Rutgers, another NCAA participant from a year ago, Oct. 15 and Indiana Oct. 18 before hosting NCAA quarterfinalist Penn State Oct. 24 and wrapping up the regular season with a home match against Michigan State Oct. 28.

Big Ten tournament quarterfinals will be at the campus sites of the top four seeds Nov. 1 with the semifinals and final the following weekend at the highest remaining seed. NCAA tournament play starts the weekend of Nov. 13-15.

A few notes on the Buckeyes' 2015 opponents:

Illinois State
: Went 16-6-0 last season and advanced to second round of NCAA tournament; Missouri Valley Conference tournament champions
Florida: Posted a 17-4-2 record before falling on penalty kicks to Stanford in NCAA quarterfinals
Dayton: Went 12-9-2 and advanced to NCAA tournament after winning Atlantic 10 tournament championship
Texas: Finished last season with an 11-8-4 record before falling to Notre Dame in second round of NCAA tournament
West Virginia: Went 16-4-2 and won the Big 12 regular season and tournament championships before failing to advance on penalty kicks against Georgetown in first round of NCAA tournament
Wisconsin: Finished last season 19-3-2 record, 9-2-2 in Big Ten play; won Big Ten tournament championship before dropping NCAA Second Round match against UCF
Iowa: Went 14-7-1 before losing 1-0 decision to Wisconsin in Big Ten championship game
Rutgers: Posted a 13-6-1 record and advanced to second round of NCAA tournament before falling at Virginia
Penn State: Went 20-4-0 and won Big Ten regular season title with a 12-1-0 record; fell in NCAA quarterfinals at Texas A&M