Degler, Miyashiro Among 2015 Bucks Go Pro Class

Nicole Miyashiro
Nicole Miyashiro
March 24, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Alexis Degler and Nicole Miyashiro, members of the Ohio State women's soccer team, are among 24 student-athletes in Ohio State's 2015 Bucks Go Pro class and will intern within the athletics department this summer. The pair, which has combined to play in 74 games over their first two seasons in Columbus, is a part of the third-year internship program that strives to provide student-athletes valuable experience working within a university athletics department, while assisting them in their desired career paths.

Degler, a strategic communications major who is minoring in marketing, will be assisting with Ohio State's development department. The Cary, N.C., native, would like to become a public relations specialist for a professional sports team.

"I'm excited to work with the development department because it will take me out of my comfort zone and introduce me to a network of very successful people who I can interact with and learn from," Degler said.

Miyashiro, a business finance major who is minoring in media and society, will be helping out with the department's human resources office. A native of Laguna Niguel, Calif., Miyashiro would like to help manage personal finances for athletes and entertainment professionals.

"I hope to gain a broad understanding of how the human resources department works within the athletics department including staffing, training, benefits and employment issues," Miyashiro added.

The Bucks Go Pro class of 2015 includes: Rachel Abrams (women's gymnastics; information technology), Andrew Appleby (men's swimming and diving; ticket office), Alex Bayne (softball; student-athlete support services), LaMar Bruton (track and field; student life), Michelle Burns (women's gymnastics; life sports), Kendall Curtis (women's hockey; creative services), Craig Dalrymple (men's hockey; facilities), Jake Dastrup (men's gymnastics; The Blackwell), Degler (women's soccer; development), Olivia DiCarlantonio (women's lacrosse; women's lacrosse), Blake Doerring (men's hockey; event management), Kevin Duffy (men's lacrosse; Schottenstein Center), Nick Elswick (track & field/cross country; camps), John Holman (football; student life), Gordie Koerber (men's lacrosse; sport administration), Katy Luchanksy (women's swimming and diving; trademark and licensing), Zach Mason (men's soccer; coaching), Cheyenne Meek (women's swimming and diving; athletics communications), Miyashiro (women's soccer; human resources), Allie Ogilvie (women's lacrosse; Recreation & Physical Activity Center), Yianni Sarris (men's soccer; compliance), MaryClare Stannard (rowing; business office), Nick Tavanello (wrestling; golf course), Julia Toro (synchronized swimming; video services).