Rowing and Pistol Teams Recognized by the Ohio Senate

June 24, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State's national champion women's rowing and pistol teams received public recognition at an Ohio Senate session this afternoon at the Ohio Statehouse.

State senators Jim Hughes, Kevin Bacon, Charleta B. Tavares, Kris Jordan and Bill Seitz presented both teams with resolutions drafted by State Senator Hughes in honor of their achievements during the 2015 season.

Dubbed the "American Pharoah of women's rowing" by State Senator Seitz, the Buckeye rowing team was recognized for its own triple-crown performance in winning its third consecutive national title. With its 2015 championship, Ohio State became the first school in NCAA history to win three national titles in a row in the sport.

The pistol team was honored for its second consecutive national title and seventh championship overall. Individual champions Irina Andrianova and Glenn Zimmerman received special recognition from the Senate as well.