Four Buckeyes Named Pocock All-Americans

June 16, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Four members of the Ohio State women's rowing team -- senior Ashley Bauer, freshman Sarah Davis, junior Holly Norton and junior Catherine Shields -- were named First Team Pocock All-Americans by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) on Monday.

All four Buckeyes were members of Ohio State's undefeated first varsity eight, which closed the year with a perfect 49-0 record overall and 15-0 mark in races. The 1V8 won both Big Ten and national titles, defeating previously unbeaten and No. 1-seed California at the NCAA Grand Finals to help the Buckeyes' to a record third consecutive NCAA team championship.

Bauer, the 2015 Big Ten Rowing Athlete of the Year, collects the first first-team award of her career after earning second-team honors last season. Bauer, from New Albany, Ohio, won three individual Big Ten titles in her four seasons with the Buckeyes, along with back-to-back national titles in the 1V8.

Davis, the 2015 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, was one of two freshmen featured in the Buckeye 1V8 this season. A Second Team All-Big Ten selection from Dunlop, Australia, Davis ends her first season at Ohio State as both a Big Ten and national champion.

Norton is now a two-time All-American for Ohio State. A native of Johannesburg, South Africa, Norton is a two-time NCAA event champion and three-time Big Ten champion with the Buckeyes, having raced with the first varsity eight since her freshman season.

Shields earns the second First Team All-American award of her career. A native of Rangiora, New Zealand, Shields was the Big Ten and Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year in 2014, along with the Big Ten Rower of the Year. Shields has won three individual national titles and three Big Ten titles in her three seasons in Columbus.

All four athletes were previously named All-Central Region performers by CRCA. Bauer, Norton and Shields were first-team selections, while Davis was a second-team honoree.

2015 Division I Pocock First Team All America Award Winners
Ashley Bauer -- The Ohio State University
Samantha Casto -- University of Virginia
Kendall Chase -- University of California, Berkeley
Sarah Davis -- The Ohio State University
Mera Dickensheets -- Indiana University
Gia Doonan -- University of Texas, Austin
Jessica Eiffert -- University of Michigan
Emily Froehlich -- University of Texas, Austin
Fiona Gammond -- University of Washington
Inger Kavlie -- University of California, Berkeley
Lindsay Meltz, coxswain -- University of California, Berkeley
Whitney Naylor --Brown University
Holly Norton -- The Ohio State University
Faith Richardson -- Princeton University
Kate Roach -- Cornell University
Ingvild Roenningen -- University of California, Berkeley
Catherine Shields -- The Ohio State University
Katie Toothman -- Stanford University
Lauren Tracey -- Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Jordan Watson -- Washington State University
Lizzy Youngling -- University of Virginia

2015 Division I Pocock Second Team All America Award Winners
Nneka Anyanwu, University of San Diego
Fredericka Archibald -- Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Hemingway Benton -- University of Virginia
Rebecca Braak -- University of Minnesota
Sarah Dougherty -- University of Washington
Jacinta Edmunds -- University of California, Berkeley
Deirdre Fitzpatrick -- Syracuse University
Nicole Hare -- Washington State University
Pippa Loveard -- University of Texas, Austin
Collette Lucas-Conwell, coxswain -- University of Virginia
Colleen Maher -- Yale University
Kricket Masters -- United States Navel Academy
Ellie Parker -- Stanford University
Hannah Schwartz -- University of Wisconsin
Ailish Sheehan -- University of Notre Dame
Alexandra Spaulding -- University of Michigan
Muriel Solberg -- Brown University
Lauren Still -- Oregon State University
Madara Strautmane, University of Southern California
Meghan Wheeler -- Princeton University
Alice Wright -- Indiana University