Four Buckeyes Named Pocock All-Americans
June 10, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four members of the Ohio State women's rowing team – senior Sarah Asad, sophomore Sarah Davis, senior Catherine Shields and junior Stephanie Williams – were named Division I Pocock First Team All-Americans by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Thursday.

All four Buckeyes were members of Ohio State's national champion First Varsity Eight, which closed the year with a 46-2 record overall and 12-2 mark in races. Ohio State became the first team in NCAA history to win three-consecutive national titles in the First Varsity Eight with its victory at the NCAA regatta in May.

Asad, a native of Dublin, Ohio, earned the first All-America award of her career in her first season as coxswain of the Varsity Eight. Asad was a two-time NCAA event champion and three-time Big Ten champion in her four seasons with the Buckeyes.

Davis collected the second All-America award of her career after earning first-team honors as a freshman in 2015. Davis, from Dunlop, Australia, is a back-to-back NCAA and Big Ten event champion for the Scarlet and Gray.

Shields, a two-time Big Ten Athlete of the Year, received the third First Team All-America award of her career. A native of Rangiora, New Zealand, Shields won four individual national titles and four Big Ten titles as a Buckeye while dropping only two races over four seasons. She is the first three-time First Team All-American in school history.

Williams, a native of Tasmania, Australia, and a three-year member of the First Varsity Eight, is a three-time NCAA and Big Ten champion. The All-America award is the first of her career.



All four athletes were previously named All-Central Region performers by CRCA.

2016 Division I Pocock First Team All-America Award Winners
Uche Anyanwu – University of San Diego
Sarah Asad (coxswain) – The Ohio State University
Sam Casto – University of Virginia
Kendall Chase – University of California, Berkeley
Sarah Davis – The Ohio State University
Gia Doonan – University of Texas
Sarah Dougherty – University of Washington
Kathryn Dukovich – Duke University
Deirdre Fitzpatrick – Syracuse University
Krisztina Gyimes – University of Southern California
Simone Jacobs – Stanford University
Inger Kavlie – University of California, Berkeley
Georgia Ratcliff – University of Virginia
Erin Reelick – Princeton University
Charlotte Seiring – University of California, Berkeley
Catherine Shields – The Ohio State University
Monica Sobieszek – Brown University
Muriel Solberg – Brown University
Kara Soucek – Gonzaga University
Lilly Tinapple – Stanford University
Meghan Wheeler – Princeton University
Stephanie Williams – The Ohio State University