No. 8 Buckeyes Continue Postseason at NCAA Championships

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!
COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten champion and eighth-ranked Ohio State rowing team looks to continue its postseason success when it competes in the 2011 NCAA Division I Rowing Championship Friday-Sunday on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. 
The Buckeyes are making their 12th-consecutive appearance and 13th overall in the national championships. The 16-team field includes three other Big Ten Conference teams in Michigan, Michigan State and Wisconsin. 
2011 NCAA Championships 16-Team Field (Alphabetical Order) 1. Brown 2. California 3. Clemson 4. Dartmouth 5. Harvard 6. Michigan 7. Michigan State 8. Ohio State 9. Princeton 10. Stanford 11. USC 12. Virginia 13. Washington 14. Washington State 15. Wisconsin 16. Yale
Did You Know With its 12th-consecutive appearance in the national championships, Ohio State is only the fifth program in the nation to achieve such a feat, joining Brown, California, Princeton and Washington for the most consecutive trips to the national championships as a team.    Ohio State at NCAA Championships The Buckeyes have qualified for the NCAA championships every year as a team since 2000, finishing a program-best third in 2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn. The First Varsity Four was an at-large selection in 1997, bringing the Scarlet and Gray’s total championship appearances to 13.
The team championship is comprised of 16 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers (First and Second Varsity Eights) and one boat of four rowers (First Varsity Four).
Ohio State All-Time Championship Appearances Team: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 *First Varsity Eight: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008  *Second Varsity Eight: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 *First Varsity Four: 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
*Beginning with the 2009 NCAA Championships, the format changed to 16 teams earning bids from the previous format of 12 teams, plus four at-large 1V8 boats. 
Ohio State NCAA Championship Top Boat Finishes Team: Third (2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn.) First Varsity Eight: Second (2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn.) Second Varsity Eight: Second (2008 in Rancho Cordova, Calif.) First Varsity Four: Third (2006 in West Windsor, N.J.)
Year-by-Year Team Finishes 2010: 14th (Gold River, Calif.) 2009: Eighth (Cherry Hill, N.J.) 2008: Seventh (Rancho Cordova, Calif.) 2007: Third (Oak Ridge, Tenn.) 2006: Fifth (West Windsor, N.J.) 2005: Fourth (Sacramento, Calif.) 2004: Eighth (Sacramento, Calif.) 2003: Eighth (Indianapolis, Ind.) 2002: Fifth (Indianapolis, Ind.) 2001: Fourth (Gainesville, Ga.  2000: Ninth (Camden, N.J.)
In a Nutshell During the regular season, Ohio State won 32 of 54 races outright for a .593 winning percentage.
*2011 Boat Records First Varsity Eight: 14-7 Second Varsity Eight: 16-5 First Varsity Four: 19-4 Second Varsity Four: 20-3 First Novice Eight: 10-5 Second Novice Eight: 7-14 **Third Varsity Eight: 0-2 *For non-dual races, a team is credited with a win if they finish second **A Third Varsity Eight race was contested during the East Coast trip Derby, Conn., and Boston, Mass.  
Keep Track Results from each race will be updated daily on the NCAA web site at  or Washington State’s official athletics website,
If You’re Going Tickets to the 2011 NCAA Rowing Championships can be purchased on-site at Lake Natoma starting Thursday. 
Ticket prices are as follows:  $40 for a three-day adult all-session package  $25 for a three-day student/seniors/child all-session package  $15 adult individual day ticket  $10 student/senior/child individual day ticket
No. 1 For the third time in program history, Ohio State won the Big Ten title May 15. Rowing at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind., all six boats posted Top 3 finishes, including gold-medal performances by the Second Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Four. 
The Buckeyes held a slim three-point lead with 88 points over Wisconsin (85) and Michigan was not far behind with 79 points heading into the final race of the morning – the 1V8 race. A win or runner-up finish by either Ohio State, Wisconsin or Michigan in the First Varsity Eight race would lock up the championship for that team. Michigan State helped make things interesting by winning the finale in 6:17.12. About 3.4 seconds later, the Scarlet and Gray’s Claudia Herpertz, Carolin Helmholz, Allison Elber, Caroline McPherson, Claire-Louise Bode, Emily Walsh, Claudia Schiwy, Ulrike Denker and coxswain Erika Benford clipped the Wolverines for that crucial second-place finish, sounding the horn in 6:20.53. The Wolverines finished in 6:21.01.  
Complementing its Big Ten titles from 2002 and 2006, the 2011 championship was an illustration of consistency by Ohio State.
“This was a great team effort,” Andy Teitelbaum, head coach, said. “We earned six medals in six events and that shows this is truly a team trophy. It is a culmination of the tremendous hard work by everyone involved with this program.” 
Relive the Moment Watch the Buckeyes as they capture the program’s third conference title when the Big Ten Network airs the championship at noon Saturday. 
Additionally, highlights of the Divisions I, II and III women’s rowing championships will appear on the 2011 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), set to air at 4 p.m. ET Sunday, June 19 on CBS.
Some of the Conference’s Best Following Ohio State’s championship performance at the Big Ten championship May 15, four Buckeyes were named to the all-conference team. Ulrike Denker and Claudia Schiwy earned First Team distinctions, while Carolin Helmholz and Claire-Louise Bode were honored with Second Team laurels.     Coach of the Year Andy Teitelbaum was named the 2011 Big Ten Coach of the Year, the conference announced May 18. It was the third time Teitelbaum earned the distinction as he was named coach of the year in 2002 and 2006. The 2011 Big Ten Champion, the Buckeyes also won the league title in 2002 and 2006. 
In his 16th season as head coach of the Buckeyes, Teitelbaum coached Ohio State to six Top 3 finishes at the most recent Big Ten championship May 15 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. Gold-medal performances by the Second Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Four helped the Scarlet and Gray compile 142 points. 
In the Polls Ohio State jumped two places to No. 8 from No. 10 in the latest CRCA/ USRowing Coaches Poll release May 18. The Buckeyes spent two weeks as the10th-ranked team in the nation, but after winning the Big Ten Conference championship, was rewarded with a No. 8 ranking.