No. 1 Ohio State Earns Automatic Bid to the NCAA Championships

May 19, 2015

NCAA Release and Selection Video

Big Ten champion and No. 1-ranked Ohio State earned the conference's automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Rowing Championships, the NCAA Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday.

Ohio State, making its 16th-consecutive appearance at the NCAA championships, aims for a record third-consecutive national title after earning back-to-back championships in 2013 and 2014. Additionally, two Ohio State boats aim to repeat as national champions, as the Buckeyes' first varsity eight and second varsity eight earned individual titles last year.

The first varsity eight -- undefeated over the past two seasons at 69-0 overall and 24-0 in races -- earned the No. 2 seed behind California. OSU will open the championships in one of four five-boat heats alongside Big Ten rivals Michigan, Wisconsin, and Indiana. American champion UCF will also compete in the section.

Earning a No. 6 seed, the Buckeyes' second varsity eight will matchup with Ivy League champion Brown, Wisconsin, Princeton, Colonial Athletic champion Northeastern and Metro Atlantic champ Jacksonville. The 2V8 earned a runner-up finish at the Big Ten championships on Sunday and is 33-2 overall in 2015, 10-2 in races.

The fourth-seeded first varsity four is set to race Washington State, Wisconsin, Stanford, Northeastern and Jacksonville in its first-round race. The Big Ten champion 1V8 boat is 32-2 overall and 10-2 in races this season. 

The 2015 NCAA Rowing Championships will be held May 29-31 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., hosted by the Pac-12 Conference.

Automatic Qualifiers
Brown (The Ivy League)
California (Pac-12 Conference)
UCF (American Athletic Conference)
Gonzaga (West Coast Conference)
Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
Massachusetts (Atlantic 10 Conference)
Navy (Patriot League)
Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference)
Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
Texas (Big 12 Conference)
Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference)

At-Large Selections
Notre Dame
Southern California
Washington State