No. 14 Buckeyes Set to Compete in 12th NCAA Championship

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

COLUMBUS, Ohio - For the 11th-consecutive season and 12th time overall, the Ohio State rowing team will compete for the NCAA team title as it was selected as one of 16 teams to row in the 2010 NCAA Championships it was announced Tuesday. Taking place on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif., the 2010 edition of the championships will take place May 28-30. Washington State University will serve as hosts.

The Buckeyes have qualified for the NCAA championships every year as a team since 2000, finishing a program-best third in 2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn. The First Varsity Four was an at-large selection in 1997, bringing the Scarlet and Gray's total championships appearances to 12.

The team championships are comprised of 16 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers (First and Second Varsity Eights) and one boat of four rowers (First Varsity Four).

2010 NCAA Championships 16-Team Field
Michigan State
Ohio State
Southern California
Washington State

Ohio State All-Time Championships Appearances
: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
First Varsity Eight: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Second Varsity Eight: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
First Varsity Four: 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008

Ohio State NCAA Championships Top Boat Finishes
Third (2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn.)
First Varsity Eight: Second (2007 in Oak Ridge, Tenn.)
Second Varsity Eight: Second (2008 in Rancho Cordova, Calif.)
First Varsity Four: Third (2006 in West Windsor, N.J.)

Year-by-Year Team Finishes
2009: Eighth (Cherry Hill, N.J.)
2008: Seventh (Rancho Cordova, Calif.)
2007: Third (Oak Ridge, Tenn.)
2006: Fifth (West Windsor, N.J.)
2005: Fourth (Sacramento, Calif.)
2004: Eighth (Sacramento, Calif.)
2003: Eighth (Indianapolis, Ind.)
2002: Fifth (Indianapolis, Ind.)
2001: Fourth (Gainesville, Ga.
2000: Ninth (Camden, N.J.)