No. 3 Ohio State Earns Automatic Bid to the NCAA Championships
May 17, 2016

NCAA Release

Big Ten champion and third-ranked Ohio State earned the conference's automatic bid to the 2016 NCAA Rowing Championships, the NCAA Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday.

Ohio State, making its 17th-consecutive appearance at the NCAA championships, made history in 2015 by winning a third-consecutive NCAA title, the first program in the history of the sport to do so. This season, the Buckeyes compete for a fourth title in a row, while the First Varsity Eight aims for its third-consecutive national title.

The First Varsity Eight -- 115-1 overall and 37-1 in races over the past three seasons -- earned the No. 3 seed behind Pac-12 champion California and Stanford. The 1V8 earned a Big Ten gold medal Sunday at the Big Ten championships in a photo finish against Michigan.

Earning a No. 3 seed, the Buckeyes' Second Varsity Eight enters the NCAA regatta behind Brown and Cal. The 2V8 claimed a Big Ten title Sunday and is 29-4 overall in 2016, 7-4 in races.

The fifth-seeded First Varsity Four is seeded behind Cal, Yale, Virginia and Washington. The Big Ten champion 1V8 is 26-6 overall and 6-5 in races this season.

The 2016 NCAA Rowing Championships will be held May 27-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., hosted by the Pac-12 Conference.

Automatic Qualifiers
California (Pac-12 Conference)
Gonzaga (West Coast Conference)
Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
Navy (Patriot League)
Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference)
Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
Princeton (The Ivy League)
Rhode Island (Atlantic 10 Conference)
Texas (Big 12 Conference)
UCF (American Athletic Conference)
Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference)

At-Large Selections
Washington State