No. 1 Ohio State Opens 2015 Season Saturday on Griggs

March 27, 2015

Race Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The No. 1-ranked and two-time defending national champion Ohio State women's rowing team opens its 2015 season this Saturday at Griggs Reservoir as it plays hosts to crews from Notre Dame, Louisville and Michigan State in the Big Ten/ACC Double Dual.

Race Schedule
Morning Session: 10 a.m. ET -- 11:50 a.m.
Afternoon Session: 1 p.m. -- 3 p.m.

Follow @OhioState_WROW on Twitter for live scoring updates.

Preseason No. 1
The Buckeyes received 18 of 25 first-place votes in the College Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA)/US Rowing Preseason Top 20 poll, released March 11. Virginia is ranked No. 2 with five first-place votes, followed by No. 3 Brown (one vote), No. 4 California (one vote) and No. 5 Stanford.

CRCA/US Rowing Top 20 Poll
1. Ohio State (18 first-place votes)
2. Virginia (5)
3. Brown (1)
4. California (1)
5. Stanford
6. Michigan
7. Washington
8. Princeton
9. Yale
10. USC
11. UCLA
12. Harvard & Notre Dame
14. Indiana
15. Wisconsin
16. Washington
17. Syracuse
18. Louisville
19. San Diego
20. Cornell

Scouting Notre Dame
No. 12 Notre Dame claimed four runner-up finishes in its season debut at the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational March 14-15. The Irish earned a program-best ninth-place finish at the NCAA regatta in 2014 and was runner-up to Virginia at the ACC championships.

Scouting Louisville
No. 18 Louisville also opened its season at the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational where they earned five wins as a group. Under the direction of third-year head coach Derek Copeland, the Cardinals finished 17th in their first-ever trip to the NCAA championships last season. UL also won the inaugural American Athletic Conference championship in 2014, sweeping all six grand finals. Louisville is in its first season as a member of the ACC.

Scouting Michigan State
Michigan State joined Louisville and Notre Dame at the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational earlier this month, earning four wins in five races on the second day of competition. The Spartans earned a fifth-place result at the 2014 Big Ten Championships.

Looking Back on 2014
Ohio State won its second-consecutive national championship this past June, becoming the fifth program in NCAA history to win consecutive national titles in the sport and the first since 2008. OSU claimed event national titles in the first and second varsity eights and a seventh-place overall finish in the first varsity four.

The Buckeyes, entering their 20th season as a varsity program, have seven Top-5 team finishes at the NCAA championships all-time. With gold medal finishes in the first varsity eight and second varsity eight, Ohio State owns five event national titles all-time, the fourth-highest total in NCAA rowing history.

OSU also claimed its second Big Ten title in a row with a meet-record 164 points. The Buckeyes became the first team since Michigan State (2008-09) to earn two consecutive conference titles and tied Michigan for the most conference championships in league history with five. Five boats won conference titles for the Scarlet and Gray.

Five athletes -- Claire-Louise Bode, Victoria Lazur, Holly Norton, Ashley Bauer and Catherine Shields -- were named Pocock All-Americans by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. Shields was also named the Big Ten Rower of the Year and the Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year.

Undefeated Record
Ohio State will put its undefeated 12-0 first varsity eight record from 2014 on the line Saturday. The crew won NCAA and Big Ten titles last season and has a 21-3 record dating back to the start of the 2013 season.

The Buckeyes' second varsity eight ended the 2014 season with an 11-1 record and is 33-3 dating back to the opening of the 2012 season. The 2V8 was undefeated in 2013 and has won back-to-back national championships.

Teitelbaum Honored with Phyllis Bailey Award
Ohio State head coach Andy Teitelbaum was selected as the 2015 recipient of the Phyllis Bailey Career Achievement Award in February.

Presented by the Ohio State University Varsity "O" Women's Alumnae Society and the Department of Athletics, the Phyllis Bailey Career Achievement Award pays tribute and to extends recognition to those individuals who, through their careers, have contributed to the honor and fame of The Ohio State University through the field of athletics by continuing to demonstrate, in their daily lives, the values learned in intercollegiate athletics and have continued the advancement of women's athletics.

Entering his 20th season as the head coach of the Buckeyes, Teitelbaum, the lone head coach in team history, has built the program from the ground up, creating one of the nation's preeminent collegiate rowing destinations. In his two decades on the job, he has won two national championships, five Big Ten titles, and seven regional titles.

The five-time Big Ten coach of the year and four-time Central Region coach of the year has produced 23 Collegiate All-Americans, including 16 first team honorees. Additionally, Teitelbaum has coached 41 All-Big Ten recipients. Academically, more than 150 student-athletes have been named Academic All-Big Ten. Teitelbaum has guided nearly 400 Buckeyes to Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors.

Ohio State Voted Crew of the Year in row2k Fan Poll
Ohio State was voted the 2014 Crew of the Year in a 15-team fan poll on earlier this year.

The Buckeyes received 38.6 percent of the 6,829 votes cast, edging the second-place Cornell lightweight men's varsity eight (34.9 percent). Other crews featured in the poll included the world champion Croatian men's double and the nine-time defending world champion USA women's eight.

Up Next
Ohio State travels to Charlottesville, Va., April 4 to face No. 2 Virginia and Clemson.