No. 3 Ohio State Advances All Three Crews to NCAA Grand Finals

Saturday Results Get Acrobat Reader

May 30, 2015

Photo Gallery 

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The No. 3-ranked Ohio State women's rowing team advanced all three of its crews to Grand Finals on day two of the 2015 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships Saturday morning at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif. In its pursuit of a third-consecutive national title, Ohio State was one of only two teams, along with fifth-ranked Washington, to qualify all three of its crews to the Grand Finals.

The first varsity eight and second varsity eight qualified for national championship races after earning first-place finishes in their respective semifinals, while the first varsity four moved on after claiming a runner-up finish in its semi.

Ohio State's undefeated first varsity eight was first on the water at Lake Natoma in the second A/B semifinal. Racing out of lane one, the No. 2-seed Buckeyes owned a comfortable lead for much of the race, separating early from the field along with Stanford and Washington. Holly Norton, Catherine Shields, Sarah K. Davis, Ashley Bauer, Stephanie Williams, Anna Ralph, Aina Cid Centelles, Rachel Engel and coxswain Sami Jurofsky would eventually hit open water ahead of the Cardinal and Huskies with 250 meters remaining, sounding the horn in a time of 6:29.33. The 1V8 posted the second-fastest time of the day behind No. 1-seed California, winner of the first semifinal race. The Buckeyes and Golden Bears will be joined in the Grand Final on Sunday by Virginia, Stanford, Washington and Texas.

The second varsity eight earned an impressive come-from-behind victory in its A/B semifinal. Racing out of lane four, Kelsey Albrinck, Sandra Dinter, Anne Dietrich, Cassandra Johnson, Bridget Verdeyen, Allyson Baker, Chloe Meyer, MaryClare Stannard and coxswain Sarah Asad used a furious charge over the final 250 meters to overtake Washington at the finish line in a time of 6:32.25. Posting the top overall time of the semifinals, Ohio State will race against Brown, UW, Cal, Yale and Washington State in the Grand Final on Sunday. Brown won the second semifinal in a time of 6:32.35.

Sarah Peffley, Annie Jachthuber, Bridget Schodorf, Anna Gackowski and coxswain Kylie Soltis made a huge move over the final 250 meters to move from fourth place to second in their first varsity four A/B semifinal race. With eventual winner Yale already at open water, the Buckeyes overtook Princeton and Cal in a photo finish at the line to advance to the Grand Final. Posting the third-fastest time of the day overall, the 1V4 will challenge Yale, semifinal two winner Virginia, Brown, Washington and Princeton for the national title on Sunday.

The first varsity four will open competition on Sunday beginning at 10:24 a.m. PT/1:24 p.m. ET. You can watch the races live on NCAA.com.

First Varsity Eight - A/B Semifinal 2
1. Ohio State - 6:29.33
2. Stanford - 6:33.28
3. Washington - 6:34.61
4. Brown - 6:39.22
5. Princeton - 6:44.50
6. Harvard - 6:48.68

Second Varsity Eight - A/B Semifinal 1
1. Ohio State - 6:32.25
2. Washington - 6:34.24
3. California - 6:38.74
4. Texas - 6:41.99
5. Michigan - 6:42.19
6. Wisconsin - 6:42.73

First Varsity Four - A/B Semifinal 1
1. Yale - 7:19.27
2. Ohio State - 7:24.03
3. Princeton - 7:24.40
4. California - 7:24.58
5. Michigan - 7:32.62
6. Notre Dame - 7:35.52

Sunday Racing Schedule
First Varsity Four - 8:12 a.m. PT/11:12 a.m ET
Second Varsity Eight - 8:36 a.m. PT/11:36 a.m ET
First Varsity Eight - 9:00 a.m. PT/Noon ET

Updated 2015 Boat-by-Boat Record
1V8: 44-0/14-0
2V8: 42-3/11-3
1V4: 41-3/11-3

*Note: First record listed is determined by placement in final standings of races. Second record is strictly win/loss record by race.