No. 3 Buckeyes Place All Three Crews in NCAA A/B Semifinals

May 29, 2015

First Varsity Eight Results Get Acrobat Reader Photo Gallery   | Second Varsity Eight Results Get Acrobat Reader | First Varsity Four Results Get Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The No. 3-ranked Ohio State women's rowing team advanced all three of its crews to A/B semifinal heats during the first day of competition at the 2015 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships Friday morning at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif. The first varsity eight and first varsity four advanced after earning first-place finishes in their respective heats, while the second varsity eight moved on after claiming a runner-up finish in its section.

The top-two crews from each first-round heat on Friday automatically advanced to the A/B semifinals, which begin at 8:50 a.m. PT/11:50 a.m. ET Saturday morning. Ohio State was one of only three teams to advance all three of its boats directly to the A/B semifinals from the preliminary heats, along with No. 2 California and No. 5 Washington. Other championship contenders, including No. 1 Brown and No. 4 Virginia, will have an opportunity to secure spots in the A/B semifinals in repechage (second chance) races Friday afternoon -- the top-two crews in each repechage earn placement in the A/B semifinals, while the remaining crews are slotted in C/D semifinals.

Ohio State's undefeated first varsity eight was first on the water at Lake Natoma in the second of four heats. Facing Big Ten rivals Michigan, Indiana and Wisconsin, along with American Athletic Conference Champion UCF, the No. 2-seed Buckeyes led wire-to-wire, hitting open water by the 1,000-meter mark and crossing the finish line seven seconds ahead of the Wolverines. Holly Norton, Catherine Shields, Sarah K. Davis, Ashley Bauer, Stephanie Williams, Anna Ralph, Aina Cid Centelles, Rachel Engel and coxswain Sami Jurofsky posted a time of 6:25.27, second only to No. 1-seed California, who finished in a time of 6:23.74 in the first heat of the day.

The fastest heat of the second varsity eight first round was a battle between No. 6-seed Ohio State and No. 3-seed Brown. The Buckeyes and Bears hit open water from the rest of the field by the 1,000-meter mark, with Brown winning by just under three seconds (6:30.28-6:33.00). Kelsey Albrinck, Sandra Dinter, Anne Dietrich, Cassandra Johnson, Bridget Verdeyen, Allyson Baker, Chloe Meyer, MaryClare Stannard and coxswain Sarah Asad closed to within three seats of the Bears before a push over the final 150 meters helped Brown to the win. Ohio State posted the second-fastest time overall in the preliminary heats.

Sarah Peffley, Annie Jachthuber, Bridget Schodorf, Anna Gackowski and coxswain Kylie Soltis finished first in the final first varsity four heat of the morning session with a time of 7:22.71, the fifth-fastest time of the morning overall. The No. 4-seed Buckeyes were locked in a three-boat race with Washington State and Stanford over the first 1,000 meters. Ohio State owned a comfortable lead for final 500 meters prior to holding off a late rally by the Cougars at the finish line.

First Varsity Eight - Heat 2
1. Ohio State - 6:25.27
2. Michigan - 6:32.17
3. Indiana - 6:34.03
4. Wisconsin - 6:45.18
5. UCF - 6:55.92

Second Varsity Eight - Heat 3
1. Brown - 6:30.28
2. Ohio State - 6:33.00
3. Wisconsin - 6:45.64
4. Princeton - 6:49.72
5. Northeastern - 6:56.94
6. Jacksonville - 7:33.55

First Varsity Four - Heat 4
1. Ohio State - 7:22.71
2. Washington State - 7:23.53
3. Stanford - 7:31.60
4. Wisconsin - 7:48.97
5. Northeastern - 7:56.39
6. Jacksonville - 8:44.01

Updated 2015 Boat-by-Boat Record
1V8: 39-0/13-0
2V8: 37-3/10-3
1V4: 37-2/11-2

*Note: First record listed is determined by placement in final standings of races. Second record is strictly win/loss record by race.