Buckeyes Dominate With a Dozen Wins in Bloomington
April 8, 2017

Bloomington, Ind. – The fourth-ranked Ohio State rowing team won 12 of 14 races at Lake Lemon against No. 13 Iowa and No. 18 Indiana.

The First Varsity Eight consisting of Bridget Schodorf, Alice Riley, Anne Dietrich, Cassandra Johnson, Rachel Engel, Sandra Dinter, Ida Kruse, Stephanie Williams and Cassidy Jenney (coxswain) got back on track with wins against over Iowa and Indiana. Although Iowa challenged the Buckeyes in the afternoon session, the 1V8 grinded out a 1.5 second victory over the Hawkeyes.




Coming off of a B1G Boat of the Week Accolade, the Second Varsity Eight proved its merit with wins over both Iowa and Indiana. The 2V8 of Hanna Gottschalk, Kimberleigh Warriner, Chelsea Harpool, Maddie Perrett, Sarah Peffley, Morgan Hummel, Allyson Baker, Annie Jachthuber and Anjali Fernandes (coxswain) finished with times of 7:08.2 and 6:41.2.

Ashley Saba, Hannah Hites, Catherine McNutt, Kaylee Koker and Helen Sudhoff (coxswain) in the 1V4 battled it out against Iowa to gain a tough 1.8 second victory. In the morning session, they beat Indiana with a time of 7:44.7. With two wins on the day, the First Varsity Four improved its record to 5-2 on the season.

The Second Varsity Four - Daphne Socha, Joan Darnell, Abby Ernst, Kendell Massier, and Emma Warns (coxswain) - continued its unbeaten streak improving its record to 4-0. The Buckeyes cruised past both Iowa and Indiana, winning by 12.7 seconds and 28.1 seconds, respectively.

The 3V4 of Sierra Cydrus, Laura Monteso Esmel, Bianca Piloseno, Rachel Serafy and Meghan Mahoney (coxswain) improved their race record to 3-1 with dominating wins against Iowa and Indiana.

The First Novice Eight collected two wins on the day and finished in its fastest time this season, finishing in 7:09.5 and 7:05.2 in the morning and afternoon sessions, respectively. Rowing for the Buckeyes in the 1N8 were Bailey Spees, Madelaine Frendberg, Grace Libben, Madison Sheahan, Katherine Kreczmer, Megan Anderson, Sierra Tiede, Olivia Carter, and Cameron Garcia (coxswain).

The Buckeyes host their only home regatta of the season at Griggs Reservoir next Saturday, April 15th, when they face off against Duke and Notre Dame.  

Morning Session
Ohio State: 6:49.50
Indiana: 6:56.72

Ohio State: 7:08.2
Indiana: 7:26.0 

Ohio State: 7:44.7
Indiana: 8:08.3

Ohio State: 7:51.9
Indiana: 8:20.0

Ohio State: 7:46.4
Iowa: 8:01.6
Indiana: 8:28.6

Ohio State: 7:09.5
Indiana: 7:21.2

Iowa: 7:23.3
Ohio State: 7:23.8

Afternoon Session


Ohio State 6:36.5

Iowa: 6:38.0


Ohio State 6:41.2

Iowa: 6:43.5


Ohio State: 7:28.9

Iowa: 7:30.7


Ohio State: 7:44.8
Iowa: 7:57.5


Ohio State: 7:52.4
Iowa: 8:07.3

Indiana: 8:44.9


Ohio State: 7:05.2
Indiana: 7:15.0


Iowa: 7:34.8
Ohio State: 7:36.1

First Varsity Eight (4-3)
Bridget Schodorf
Alice Riley

Anne Dietrich
Cassandra Johnson
Rachel Engel
Sandra Dinter
Ida Kruse
Stephanie Williams
Coxswain – Cassidy Jenney


Second Varsity Eight (5-2)
Hanna Gottschalk
Kimberleigh Warriner

Chelsea Harpool
Maddie Perrett
Sarah Peffley
Morgan Hummel
Allyson Baker
Annie Jachthuber
Coxswain – Anjali Fernandes


First Varsity Four (5-2)
Ashley Saba

Hannah Hites
Catherine McNutt

Kaylee Koker
Coxswain – Helen Sudhoff 


Second Varsity Four (4-0)
Daphne Socha
Joan Darnell

Abby Ernst
Kendell Massier
Coxswain – Emma Warns 


Third Varsity Four (3-1 Race/5-1 Overall)
Sierra Cydrus
Laura Monteso Esmel

Bianca Piloseno
Rachel Serafy
Coxswain – Meghan Mahoney 


First Novice Eight (2-2 Race/3-2 Overall)
Bailey Spees
Madelaine Frendberg
Grace Libben
Madison Sheahan
Katherine Kreczmer
Megan Anderson
Sierra Tiede
Olivia Carter
Coxswain – Cameron Garcia 


Second Novice Eight (1-3 Race/3-3 Overall)
Virginia Brosnahan
Kristin Hoying
Kylie Sturgill
Michayla Binkley
Sydnee Wilke
Sheridan Cleave
Jeanette Gardner
Megan Denk
Coxswain – Julia Linares