Buckeyes Announce 2015 Schedule

Senior Jackie Cifarelli is one of nine returning starters in 2015.
Senior Jackie Cifarelli is one of nine returning starters in 2015.
Dec. 1, 2014

2015 Schedule (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

2015 Schedule Graphic Get Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Seven NCAA qualifiers from last season and the inaugural Big Ten regular season and tournament highlight a challenging 2015 Ohio State women's lacrosse schedule, which was announced Monday.

The season begins with consecutive home matches with Detroit Mercy (Jan. 31) and Binghamton (Feb. 7) before two straight road matches at Winthrop (Feb. 13) and Virginia Tech (Feb. 15).

The Buckeyes return home late February when they host Stanford and Niagara on consecutive days, Feb. 28 and March 1. From there, Ohio State will spend a majority of March on the road with four consecutive road matches, beginning March 8 at Duquesne, followed by trips to Canisius (March 14), Cincinnati (March 18) and Notre Dame (March 21).

Ohio State will then face Michigan March 27 in Columbus in its inaugural Big Ten conference match, followed by Hofstra March 29. After two road contests at Penn State (April 4) and Duke (April 9), the Buckeyes will play two of their last three at home, starting April 12 when they host Maryland at Ohio Stadium. Senior day will take place April 16 under the lights vs. Rutgers before finishing out the regular season at Northwestern April 25.

The inaugural Big Ten tournament will take place April 30-May 3 on the campus of Rutgers University.

The Buckeyes, who are returning 9 of 12 starters, finished 13-7 overall and 4-2 in ALC play in 2014, and earned their first NCAA Tournament appearance in 11 years under fourth-year head coach Alexis Venechanos. The 13 wins were the second most in school history while the No. 13 final national ranking marked the second-best finish in school history in a national poll.

2015 Schedule

Day Opponent Location Time (ET)
Jan. 31 Detroit Mercy Columbus, Ohio 4 p.m.
Feb. 7 Binghamton Columbus, Ohio 1 p.m.
Feb. 13 at Winthrop Rock Hill, S.C. 6 p.m.
Feb. 15 at Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. 1 p.m.
Feb. 28 Stanford Columbus, Ohio Noon
March 1 Niagara Columbus, Ohio 1 p.m.
March 8 at Duquesne Pittsburgh, Pa. Noon
March 14 at Canisius Buffalo, N.Y. 3 p.m.
March 18 at Cincinnati Cincinnati, Ohio 3 p.m.
March 21 at Notre Dame South Bend, Ind. Noon
March 27 Michigan Columbus, Ohio 5 p.m.
March 29 Hofstra Columbus, Ohio 1 p.m.
April 4 at Penn State University Park, Pa. 1 p.m.
April 9 at Duke Durham, N.C. 3 p.m.
April 12 Maryland Columbus, Ohio 1 p.m.
April 16 Rutgers Columbus, Ohio 7 p.m.
April 25 at Northwestern Evanston, Ill. 2 p.m.
April 30-May 3 Big Ten Tournament Piscataway, N.J. TBA
May 9-10 NCAA 1st/2nd Rounds
May 16-17 NCAA Quarterfinals
May 22-24 NCAA Semifinals/National Championship