Cifarelli Named to Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

Junior Jackie Cifarelli is second in the nation with 16 assists in 2014
Junior Jackie Cifarelli is second in the nation with 16 assists in 2014

Feb. 28, 2014


COLUMBUS, OhioJackie Cifarelli, a junior attack on the Ohio State women’s lacrosse team, was named to the 2014 Tewaaraton Watch List this week. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award.

Cifarelli, a native of Rockville Center, N.Y., posted a team-best five points last weekend at Boston College to pass former Buckeye All-American and current assistant coach Gabby Capuzzi (123g, 20a) for ninth on the all-time OSU list with 144 career points (49g, 95a). She is 11 points shy of moving up to eighth in the record book. Cifarelli has collected 95 assists in her career, which is fourth best in Ohio State history. Her 16 helpers in 2014 are the second most in the nation and top the American Lacrosse Conference heading into the fourth week of the season.

In addition to moving up the record book, Cifarelli has collected points in 36 of 39 games in her career, collecting 27 multi-point performances overall. As a freshman, Cifarelli led all Division I freshmen in assists with 32 and finished second on the team in points with 58. Last season, she was named a second team ALC honoree leading the Buckeyes with 65 total points, which tied 11th on the OSU all-time single season points list. Once again, Cifarelli is off to a great start in 2014, leading the Buckeyes with 21 points (5g, 16a) in just four games played.

The watch list was generated by the award's selection committee, which is made up of collegiate coaches and is appointed each year by the Tewaaraton Award. The selection committee will make additions to the list as the season progresses. In late April, the list will be narrowed to 25, who will be named Tewaaraton Nominees. In mid-May, five finalists will be announced. The finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, held May 29 in Washington, D.C.