Three Buckeyes Named to Tewaaraton Award Women's Watch List

Feb. 27, 2015

Tewaaraton Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Three Buckeyes have been named to the 2015 Tewaaraton Award women's watch list, which was announced Thursday evening. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

On the list from Ohio State are seniors Katie Chase, Jackie Cifarelli and Tori DeScenza.

Chase currently leads the Big Ten and is second in the NCAA with 18 goals overall. Her 4.5 goals per game average also is tops in the conference and sixth in the NCAA. The senior from Woodbine, Md., also is tied for the team lead with eight ground balls and leads with 15 draw controls. Chase has scored at least three goals in all four games this season, with six in the opener vs. Detroit (all in the first half) and five in the win at Winthrop. She also is currently second on Ohio State's all-time list with 157 draw controls.

Cifarelli, a native of Rockville Center, N.Y., leads Ohio State with 21 points - good for fifth in the NCAA - and is second in the Big Ten with 15 assists (3.75 per game). She also has six goals on the year and posted a season-high eight points (2g, 6a) in the win at Winthrop. In the win at Virginia Tech, Cifarelli became Ohio State's all-time assists leader, now with 140. Cifarelli also is in fourth place on Ohio State's all-time points list with 207.

DeScenza, a preseason All-American, is second in the Big Ten with a .562 save percentage. A senior from Sea Bright, N.J., she has 27 saves on the year. DeScenza recorded 22 saves in road wins at Winthrop and Virginia Tech and limited the Hokies to just two second-half goals to help the Buckeyes remain undefeated. DeScenza is currently third on Ohio State's all-time list with 433 saves.



Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch lists additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 19 and April 9. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the ceremony. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 28, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of The Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit