Markwordt Named to Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

Go Buckeyes! Alayna Markwordt
Go Buckeyes!
Alayna Markwordt
Go Buckeyes!

Feb. 16, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Alayna Markwordt, a senior attack on the 18th-ranked Ohio State women's lacrosse team, capped off a record-breaking weekend with the honor of being named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Watch List this week. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award.

Markwordt, a native of Woodbine, Md., broke the Ohio State record for career goals with her performance in the Buckeyes' wins last weekend in California. She tied the mark of 143 previously set by Megan Mirick (1999-2003) and Kelly Haggerty (2007-10) against San Diego State last Friday, before breaking it with a single tally vs. Stanford Feb. 12. Next up is the career points record, which she is nine away from breaking the current top mark of 243, also set by Haggerty.

In addition to breaking the program record, the senior captain's goal vs. Stanford also extended her goal-scoring streak to 24 games, while her point-scoring streak currently stands at 50-consecutive games, dating back to March 1, 2009, and the fourth game of freshman season. A 2011 IWLCA Second Team All-American and two-time All-ALC player, Markwordt has started all 53 career games to date and has 144 goals, 91 assists and 235 points to her credit.

The watch list was generated by the award's selection committee, which is made up of collegiate coaches and is appointed each year by the Tewaaraton Award. The selection committee will make additions to the list as the season progresses. In late April, the list will be narrowed to 25, who will be named Tewaaraton Nominees. In mid-May, five finalists will be announced. The finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, held May 31 at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.