Buckeyes to Compete at IIHF Women's World Championship

Go Buckeyes! Annie Svedin
Go Buckeyes!
Annie Svedin
Go Buckeyes!

April 3, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Buckeyes are set to represent their respective countries at this year’s IIHF Women’s World Championship held in Burlington, Vt., April 7-14. The event is second in international women’s hockey competition only to the Winter Olympics.

Former Buckeye Tessa Bonhomme and Natalie Spooner, who completed her eligibility in February, will skate for Team Canada, while Lisa Chesson (2005-08) will compete with Team USA. Current student-athletes Minttu Tuominen and Annie Svedin will represent Team Finland and Team Sweden, respectively.

The IIHF Women’s World Championship brings together eight teams from around the world – United States, Canada, Finland, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, and Germany. Team USA won its third-straight title last year, defeating Team Canada 3-2 in overtime.

Team Sweden opens competition with a game vs. Slovakia Saturday at 1 p.m. ET. Finland follows vs. Russia at 3 p.m. ET and Team USA and Team Canada close out the first day with a 7 p.m. ET face off.

For more information on the 2012 IIHF Women’s World Championship, visit www.usahockey.com/burlington2012 .