Natalie Spooner Named to All-WCHA First Team

Go Buckeyes! Natalie Spooner
Go Buckeyes!
Natalie Spooner
Go Buckeyes!

March 2, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State women’s hockey senior Natalie Spooner added another honor to her resume this season after being named to the All-WCHA first team, the conference announced Thursday. This is Spooner’s third postseason honor after earning first-team laurels following the 2009-10 season and second-team honors last season.

The 2012 Patty Kazmaier finalist concluded the season with a team-best 50 points on 31 goals and 19 assists. Spooner’s 39 points in conference play finished 11th among league leaders and her 25 goals scored against WCHA opponents was second overall. All three of her hat tricks this season came against league foes, including two four-goal performances. 

Thirteen Buckeyes earned WCHA All-Academic team awards given to sophomores or higher carrying a grade-point average of at least 3.0. Spooner and fellow seniors Brittany Carlson, Melissa Feste and Kelly Wild all earned the third academic honor of their careers. Picking up their second-career honor were juniors Liz Rizzo, Paige Semenza and Minttu Tuominen. Six Buckeyes were named for the first time: Becky Allis, Tina Hollowell, Chelsea Knapp, Madison Marcotte, Lisa Steffes and Annie Svedin.



WCHA Player of the Year: Brianna Decker, Jr., F. University of Wisconsin

WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year: Jocelyn Lamoureux, Jr., F, University of North Dakota

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Stefanie McKeough, Jr., D, University of Wisconsin

WCHA Rookie of the Year: Michelle Karvinen, So., F, University of North Dakota

WCHA Coach of the Year: Mark Johnson, University of Wisconsin

WCHA Scoring Champion: Jocelyne Lamoureux, Jr., F, University of North Dakota

WCHA Goaltending Champion: Alex Rigsby, So., G, University of Wisconsin


All-WCHA First Team
Hilary Knight, Sr., University of Wisconsin
Jocelyne Lamoureux, Jr., University of North Dakota
Brianna Decker, Jr., University of Wisconsin
Natalie Spooner, Sr., Ohio State University
Anne Schleper, Sr., University of Minnesota
Megan Bozek, Jr., University of Minnesota
Zuzana Tomcikova, Sr., Bemidji State University

All-WCHA Second Team
Jen Schoullis, Sr., University of Minnesota
Amanda Kessel, So., University of Minnesota
Monique Lamoureux-Kolls, Jr., University of North Dakota
Stefanie McKeough, Jr., University of Wisconsin
Alex Rigsby, So., University of Wisconsin

All-WCHA Third Team
Michelle Karvinen, So., University of North Dakota
Haley Irwin, Sr., University of Minnesota Duluth
Brooke Ammerman, Sr., University of Wisconsin
Montana Vichorek, Sr., Bemidji State University
Jessica Wong, So., University of Minnesota Duluth
Noora Räty, Jr., University of Minnesota

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Michelle Karvinen, So., University of North Dakota
Jenna McParland, Fr., University of Minnesota Duluth
Josefine Jakobsen, Fr., University of North Dakota
Rachel Ramsey, Fr., University of Minnesota
Brigette Lacquette, Fr., University of Minnesota Duluth
Julie Friend, Fr., St. Cloud State University