Miller, Marohn and Shaffer Garner All-Big Ten Honors

Melanie Shaffer
Melanie Shaffer

March 18, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Sarah Miller, Aly Marohn and Melanie Shaffer, members of the No. 20 Ohio State women’s gymnastics team, have earned All-Big Ten honors, the conference office announced Monday. Miller earned first team All-Big Ten honors while Marohn and Shaffer were second team honorees.

“It’s an honor for each of these student-athletes to be earn All-Big Ten honors, especially when the Big Ten is so strong,” Ohio State head coach Carey Fagan said. “These are our three most consistent gymnasts and, especially with Colleen Dean being out, they have been excellent both in competition and in a leadership role.”

The award is the third first team All-Big Ten honor for Miller, who also was named a second team All-American on balance beam and floor exercise a season ago. The Collegeville, Pa., native earned Big Ten Specialist of the Week honors five times this season and posted individual season bests for the Buckeyes on vault (9.950), balance beam (9.950) and floor exercise (9.925).

In her second season at Ohio State, Marohn garners her first All-Big Ten honor after twice leading the Buckeyes in the all-around. In addition, the Langley, British Columbia, native tallied a career high and Ohio State season-high 9.950 on uneven bars March 9 against Bridgeport.



Shaffer, a second team All-Big Ten selection as a freshman, competed in the all-around in every meet this season, winning the all-around five times. Shaffer posted a career-high 39.400 to win the all-around and tied for an Ohio State season-high 9.925 on floor exercise March 9 vs. Bridgeport.

It also was announced that the Buckeyes will be the No. 6 seed and compete in the afternoon session when they travel to East Lansing, Mich., for the Big Ten Championships at 1 p.m. Saturday.

“It’s a bit disappointing to be in the afternoon session,” Fagan added. “However, we’re very excited for the opportunity to prove ourselves and try to earn a Top 3 seed in our regional.”

The meet will be televised live on BTN.

Afternoon Session – 1 p.m. ET

5. Illinois
6. Ohio State
7. Iowa
8. Michigan State

Evening Session – 6 p.m. ET
1. Michigan
2. Nebraska
3. Minnesota
4. Penn State

Alina Weinstein, ILL
Brittnee Martinez, MICH
Joanna Sampson, MICH
Sachi Sugiyama, MICH
Katie Zurales, MICH
Shannon Golich, MINN
Lindsay Mable, MINN
Kylie Schermann, MINN
Jessie DeZiel, NEB
Janelle Giblin, NEB
Jennifer Lauer, NEB
Emily Wong, NEB
Sarah Miller, OSU
Madison Merriam, PSU
Sharaya Musser, PSU

Sunny Kato, ILL
Gianna O’Connor, ILL
Amber See, ILL
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Shelby Gies, MICH
Taira Neal, MSU
Kayla Slechta, MINN
Brittany Skinner, NEB
Alyssa Marohn, OSU
Melanie Shaffer, OSU