Buckeyes Enter NCAA's Final Stage
May 16, 2017

RELATED INFO

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- For the 21st time since 1983 and 16th occurrence under the watchful eye of Hall of Fame head coach Therese Hession, the No. 25 Ohio State women's golf team will compete in the NCAA Championships. The 2017 national title will be contested for at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill., May 19-24. This season marks the Buckeyes' fifth trip to the NCAA final stage in the last seven years.

Hession's charges have finished six previous campaigns inside the NCAA Championship Top-10 -- most recently a seventh-place performance in 2014.

NCAA Championships -- Tournament Central Page

Complete Team Notes Get Acrobat Reader

The championship format consists of all 24 teams and 12 individuals completing 54 holes of stroke play, and then the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match play competition and the 72-hole stroke play individual champion. The top eight teams then compete in match play for the championship.

GOLF CHANNEL TO PROVIDE COVERAGE
Golf Channel's live tournament coverage of the championships will begin on Monday, May 22 to crown the individual national champion, as well as to track the teams attempting to qualify for the eight-team match-play tournament. Golf Channel's coverage also will include all three rounds of the team match-play tournament on Tuesday, May 23 and Wednesday, May 24.

Monday, May 22 | Individual National Championship | 4-8 p.m. ET (Live)
Tuesday, May 23 | Quarterfinals, Team Match Play | 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m. ET (Live)
Tuesday, May 23 | Semifinals, Team Match Play | 4-8 p.m. ET (Live)
Wednesday, May 24 | Team National Championship | 4-8 p.m. ET (Live)

TOURNAMENT TIDBITS
Name: 2017 NCAA Championships (May 19-24)
Live Scoring: Golfstat
Course: Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Grove, Ill.)
Yardage: 6,343 yards| Par 72
Format: `Play 5, count 4' for 72 holes of stroke play (field cut to 15 teams after 54 holes) | Eight-team match play bracket to determine team champion
Schedule of Play:
Round One (Friday, May 19) | Tee times off of Holes 1 & 10 starting at 7:30 a.m. CT/8:30 a.m. ET
*Ohio State paired with Michigan and Purdue at 7:30 a.m. CT/8:30 a.m. ET
Round Two (Saturday, May 20) | Tee times off of Holes 1 & 10 starting at 7:30 a.m. CT/8:30 a.m. ET
*Ohio State, Michigan and Purdue start with 12:30 p.m. CT/1:30 p.m. ET tee times
Round Three (Sunday, May 21) | Tee times off of Holes 1 & 10 starting at 7:30 a.m. CT/8:30 a.m. ET
Round Four (Monday, May 22) | Tee times off of Holes 1 & 10 at 11:30 a.m. CT/12:30 p.m. ET (field cut to 15 teams and nine individuals from teams missing the cut)
Match Play Quarterfinals (Tuesday May 23) | Starting at 7 a.m. CT/8 a.m. ET
Match Play Semifinals (Tuesday, May 23) | Starting at 1:30 p.m. CT/2:30 p.m. ET
Match Play Championship (Wednesday, May 24) | Starts at 2:10 p.m. CT/3:10 p.m. ET
Field (24 teams; 12 individuals):
*Listed alphabetically with Golfstat national rankings listed in parenthesis
Alabama (2)
Arizona State (7)
Baylor (17)
California (21)
Clemson (37)
Duke (8)
Florida (3)
Florida State (5)
Furman (9)
Kent State (14)
Miami (FL) (13)
Michigan (28)
Michigan State (44)
North Carolina (35)
Northwestern (12)
Ohio State (25)
Oregon (38)
Pepperdine (31)
Purdue (24)
South Carolina (11)
Stanford (1)
Texas (16)
Texas Tech (30)
USC (6)

Individuals:
Susie Cavanagh (Oregon State)
Martina Edberg (Cal State Fullerton)
Laura Fuenfstueck (College of Charleston)
Cara Gorlei (Arkansas)
Jennifer Kupcho (Wake Forest)
Bianca Pagdanganan (Gonzaga)
Camila Serrano (FIU)
Julienne Soo (Oklahoma)
Maddie Szeryk (Texas A&M)
Maya Walton (Princeton) Alex White (BYU)
Nadine White (Campbell)

BUCKEYE LINEUP
1 -- Jaclyn Lee | So. | 73.35 avg. (31 rounds)
2 -- Katja Pogacar | Sr. | 73.93 avg. (29 rounds)
3 -- Jessica Porvasnik | Sr. | 74.32 avg. (31 rounds)
4 -- Niki Schroeder | So. | 74.61 avg. (31 rounds)
5 -- Rio Watanabe | r-Jr. | 74.89 avg. (27 rounds)

SCARLET COURSE HOSTS NCAA REGIONAL
Ohio State played host to one of four NCAA Regional sites this season, taking advantage of the home turf and moving on to the NCAA Championships by virtue of a fourth place showing in the NCAA Columbus Regional (May 8-10). The Buckeyes played in the final group and held the tournament lead for a period of time in the final round. Katja Pogacar registered the Scarlet & Gray's low score of the week, a 2-under 70 in Round Three, which vaulted her nine slots up into a tie for fifth place overall in the 96-player field.

BUCKEYE TRIO EARNS ALL-BIG TEN STATUS FOR 2016-17
Jaclyn Lee, Katja Pogacar and Jessica Porvasnik were each voted to the All-Big Ten Second Team. In addition, Rio Watanabe was presented the Big Ten Sportsmanship award.

Pogacar and Porvasnik have been named to the All-B1G squad in all four seasons of their careers. Pogacar earned First Team honors in 2015 and 2016 while Porvasnik did so in 2014 and 2016. The pair becomes the second and third Buckeyes in school history to corral all-conference laurels four times (Kristen White was a First Team member from 2002-05).

NATIONAL RANKINGS
Ohio State comes in at No. 23 and No. 25 in this week's Golweek and Golfstat national rankings. Four Buckeye individuals can be found in the Golfweek Top-200, including Jaclyn Lee slotted No. 89 in the entire country. Katja Pogacar (No. 104), Jessica Porvasnik (No. 105) and Rio Watanabe (No. 165) are also nationally ranked inside the Top-200.