No. 19 Buckeyes Earn 18th-Consecutive NCAA Regional Bid

Go Buckeyes! Head Coach Therese Hession with senior Vicky Villanueva
Go Buckeyes!
Head Coach Therese Hession with senior Vicky Villanueva
Go Buckeyes!

May 1, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Coming off a third-place performance at the Big Ten Championships, the Ohio State women's golf team has earned a spot at the NCAA Central Regional, the NCAA Women's Golf Committee announced Monday night. The sixth-seeded Buckeyes will host the tournament at their own par 72, 6,264-yard Scarlet Course May 10-12.

The top eight teams and two individuals from each region will advance to the national championship held May 22-25 at the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn. The Central Regional is led by top-seed and No. 3 Southern California, while Alabama and UCLA also earned No. 1 seeds out of the east and west, respectively.

Under head coach Therese Hession, the Buckeyes have appeared in 18-consecutive regionals and have competed at the national tournament 12 times.  In 2011, Ohio State carded a total of 905 on the par 72, 6,208-yard Warren Golf Course in Notre Dame, Ind., to finish sixth and advance to nationals where the squad placed 21st.

Of the 23 other teams competing, Ohio State has already faced Auburn, Kentucky, Michigan, North Carolina State, Notre Dame, Oregon, Purdue, Southern California, Tennessee, UNC Wilmington, Vanderbilt and Virginia. The Buckeyes post an overall record of 123-23-2 and a mark of 16-5 against teams competing at the Central Regional.

In addition to regionals, the Buckeyes also hosted their own Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational on Scarlet April 21-22. Led by junior Rachel Rohanna who took medalist honors with a score of 4-under 212, Ohio State won the event by a 16-stroke margin.

The East Regional will be played at the Penn State Blue Course in State College, Pa., while the West Regional will take place at the Colorado National Golf Club in Erie, Colo.

Central Regional Teams



1. Southern California
2. Auburn (Southeastern)
3. Georgia
4. Vanderbilt
5. Tennessee
6. Ohio State

7. Oregon
8. North Carolina State
9. Virginia
10. Florida State
11. Purdue
12. Arkansas
13. Ole Miss
14. Kentucky
15. Texas State
16. South Florida (Big East)
17. Notre Dame
18. Texas-San Antonio (Southland)
19. East Carolina
20. Michigan
21. UNC Wilmington (Colonial Athletic)
22. Harvard (Ivy League)
23. Butler (Horizon League)
24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic)

1. Madeleine Shiels (Nebraska)
2. Alex Buelow (Stetson)
3. Rika Park (Miami )
4. Brittany Henderson (Coastal Carolina)
5. Leticia Ras-Anderica (Miami)
6. Gabriella Wahl (East Tennessee State)