Ohio State Selected to NCAA West Regional

Go Buckeyes! Therese Hession & Jan Chanpalangsri
Go Buckeyes!
Therese Hession & Jan Chanpalangsri
Go Buckeyes!

April 29, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Ohio State women's golf team earned a spot at the NCAA West Regional, the NCAA Women's Golf Committee announced Monday night. The 13th-seeded Buckeyes will travel to Palo Alto, Calif., and compete on the Stanford University Golf Course May 9-11.

The top eight teams and two individuals from each regional will advance to the national championship held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga., and will be hosted by Georgia.

Under head coach Therese Hession, the Buckeyes have appeared in 19-straight regionals and have competed at the national tournament 13 times. In 2012, Ohio State hosted the NCAA Central Regional and advanced to the NCAA Championships after a sixth-place finish on the Scarlet Course. The squad concluded in 22nd at the national tournament in Nashville.

The Buckeyes are one of seven teams to represent the Big Ten along with Northwestern, Purdue, Michigan State, Penn State, Wisconsin and Indiana. Of the 23 other teams in the West Regional, Ohio State has already faced top-seeded Southern California, Arizona, Purdue, Baylor, Texas A&M, LSU, Pepperdine, Denver, South Carolina, Oregon, UNLV, Florida State and Kent State.

The East Regional will be played at the Auburn University Golf Club in Auburn, Ala., while the Central Regional will take place at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Okla.

West Regional Teams
1. Southern California (Pac-12 Conference)
2. Arizona
3. Vanderbilt
4. Purdue
5. Stanford
6. Georgia
7. Baylor
8. Texas A&M
9. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
10. LSU
11. Denver (Western Athletic Conference)
12. South Carolina
13. Ohio State
14. Oregon
15. UNLV (Mountain West Conference)
16. California
17. Florida State
18. Miami (Fla.)
19. San Jose State
20. Harvard (Ivy League)
21. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
22. Northern Arizona (Big Sky Conference)
23. North Dakota State (Summit League)
24. Long Island (Northeast Conference)



1. Laura Wearn, Furman
2. Jennifer Coleman, Colorado
3. Sammi Stevens, New Mexico
4. A. Ram Choi, Portland State
5. Luciane Lee, UC Irvine
6. Michelle Park, UC Irvine