Schedule Set for Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament

Nov. 3, 2013


ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the bracket on Sunday for the 2013 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament. Ohio State is the seventh seed and will face second-seeded Northwestern in the quarterfinals on Thursday, Nov. 7 at 12:15 p.m. at Buckeye Varsity Field.

Thursday's game will mark the second time in six days that the Buckeyes (5-12, 0-6 Big Ten) and Wildcats (15-4, 5-1 Big Ten) have faced each other. Ohio State fell to Northwestern, 5-0, in the regular season finale last Friday at NU's Lakeside Field.

Northwestern and Penn State shared the conference's regular season title but the Nittany Lions earned the top seed due to their head-to-head victory over the Wildcats. The winner of the Ohio State-Northwestern game will face the winner of the Michigan State-Indiana contest in the semifinals on Friday, Nov. 8.

BTN will provide live coverage of the quarterfinals, semifinals and final of the tournament. All three of Thursday's games will be live streamed on the Big Ten Digital Network (BTDN). The first semifinal game on Friday will be live on BTN, while the second semifinal will air on delay at 11:30 p.m. ET that evening. The championship game will air live on BTN.

2013 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament Schedule
All games at Buckeye Varsity Field on the campus of The Ohio State University

Thursday, Nov. 7

Quarterfinal #1: No. 4 Michigan vs. No. 5 Iowa - 10:00 a.m. (BTDN)
Quarterfinal #2: No. 2 Northwestern vs. No. 7 Ohio State - 12:15 p.m. (BTDN)
Quarterfinal #3: No. 3 Michigan State vs. No. 6 Indiana - 2:30 p.m. (BTDN)

Friday, Nov. 8
Semifinal #1: Winner of Quarterfinal #1 vs. No. 1 Penn State - 10:00 a.m. (BTN)
Semifinal #2: Winner of Quarterfinal #2 vs. Winner of Quarterfinal #3 - 12:30 p.m. (BTN - taped)

Sunday, Nov. 10
Championship: Winner of Semifinal #1 vs. Winner of Semifinal #2 - Noon (BTN)