Samantha Prahalis Named a Finalist for WBCA 2012 State Farm® Wade Trophy

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

March 23, 2012

ATLANTA - The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player.

"I look forward to the naming of these finalists each year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "These 12 finalists are the game's most elite players and exciting to watch. One of these talented student-athletes will be chosen to receive the sport's most prestigious award - the Wade Trophy."

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members composed of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team. The winner will be announced on during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, in Denver. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists are as follows:

Player NameInstitutionYearPosition
Elena Delle DonneUniversity of DelawareJr.F
Skylar DigginsUniversity of Notre DameJr.G
Brittney GrinerBaylor UniversityJr.C
Shenise JohnsonUniversity of MiamiSr.G
Anna MartinDePaul UniversityJr.G
A'dia MathiesUniversity of KentuckyJr.G
Chiney OgwumikeStanford UniversitySo.F
Nneka OgwumikeStanford UniversitySr.F
Samantha PrahalisOhio State UniversitySr.G
Odyssey SimsBaylor UniversitySo.G
Alyssa ThomasUniversity of MarylandSo.F
Julie WojtaUniversity of Wisconsin-Green BaySr.G/F

"State Farm is extremely proud to recognize and congratulate these 12 outstanding athletes as finalists for The 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy," said Pam El, marketing vice president for State Farm. "Their dedication and commitment epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and they are all very deserving of this great honor."

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 35th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Connecticut's Maya Moore, who was the first student-athlete to win the award three consecutive years (2009, 2010, 2011.) The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).