Ohio State Finishes 23rd at NCAA Championships

Go Buckeyes! Ohio State finished 23rd Monday at the 2011 NCAA DI Cross Country Championships.
Go Buckeyes!
Ohio State finished 23rd Monday at the 2011 NCAA DI Cross Country Championships.
Go Buckeyes!

Nov. 21, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State finished 23rd out of 31 teams Monday afternoon at the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Cross Country Championship at Indiana State University’s 10k LaVern Gibson Championship Course in Terre Haute, Ind.

With a combined team score of 538, the Buckeyes secured a top 25 finish at the national championships for the 11th-time in school history and sixth-time under the direction of head coach Robert Gary. Wisconsin captured the national championship with a team score of 97, while 2010 champion Oklahoma State was the runner-up with 139 points. Stanford’s Chris Derrick won the individual crown in a time of 28:58.

"I’m quite pleased with how we ran,” Gary said after the race. “I am probably most to blame for starting them off a little too far back, but these guys really responded this year. We don’t have as much high school talent as most other teams, but our guys really developed and came together as a unit, especially after we lost Jake Edwards to injury at Notre Dame. We lose two quality seniors in Adam Green and Taylor Williams, and they'll be big shoes to fill, but our redshirt freshman will be solid replacements."

The Buckeyes were paced by junior Donny Roys, who turned in a 95th-place time of 30:59. Williams was the No. 2 runner for OSU in his final collegiate race, crossing the finish line 31:01 for a top 100 finish. Rounding out scoring for Ohio State were junior Julian Meyer (102nd, PR of 31:03), Green (106th, 31:07) and junior Chris Fallon (135th, 31:26). 



"I am very proud of this year's team, over the summer and from our preseason trip down to North Carolina through today's NCAA meet," Gary added. "I have really enjoyed coaching this group of young men."

Ohio State Results
1    95     Donny Roys  30:59
2    100   Taylor Williams  31:01
3    102   Julian Meyer  31:03
4    106   Adam Green  31:07
5    135   Chris Fallon  31:26                    

6    168   Michael Brajdic  31:52
7    199   Cory Leslie  32:24