No. 3 Ohio State To Test Itself at CKLV Invitational

Dec. 2, 2015


RELATED INFO: Notes | 2015-16 Statistics | 2015-16 Schedule | 2015-16 Roster | Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Still undefeated and ranked third in the latest USA Today/NWCA poll, Ohio State will test itself against some of the best wrestlers this weekend at the 34th annual Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational.

THE SCHEDULE
Friday, December 4:
9 a.m. PST (Noon EST): Pigtail Round, Round One, Round Two, Consolation Pigtails, Consolation Round One and Consolation Round Two.
6 p.m. PST (9 p.m. EST): Quarterfinals and Consolation Round Three

Saturday, December 5:
9 a.m. PST (Noon EST): Consolation Round Four
10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST): Semifinals and Consolation Round Five, Consolation Semifinals, Consolation Finals (5th & 6th, 7th & 8th)
3 p.m. PST (6 p.m. EST): Championship Finals (First and Second and Third and Fourth)

FOLLOW ALONG
Live scoring for the Cliff Keen Invitational will be available through TrackWrestling. Updates can also be found on the team’s official Twitter account, @wrestlingbucks

DID YOU KNOW
Over 40 percent of all nationally-ranked wrestlers will be competing at this weekend’s Cliff Keen Invitational, making it one of the most competitive tournaments on an annual basis.

PRE-SEEDS
125: #1 Nathan Tomasello
133: #4 Johnni DiJulius
141: #5 Micah Jordan
157: #7 Jake Ryan
165: #1 Bo Jordan
184: #3 Kenny Courts
197: #7 Mark Martin
285: #7 Nick Tavanello 

BUCKEYES IN A NUTSHELL

  • Ohio State has been off since last Tuesday’s 26-18 dual match victory against Cleveland State in which it received four bonus point wins to outlast the Vikings.
  • The Buckeyes remained third in this week’s USA Today/NWCA Top 25 poll. OSU is one of three Big Ten teams ranked in the top five, joining Penn State (No. 1), Iowa (No. 2) and Nebraska (No. 5).
  • Eight of Ohio State’s 10 starters are ranked in the Top 20 of their respective weight classes by InterMat. The group is led by Nathan Tomasello and Bo Jordan, ranked No. 1 at 125 and No. 2 at 165 pounds, respectively.
  • Additionally, five Ohio State starters remain unbeaten this year – Tomasello (4-0), Jordan (5-0), Johnni DiJulius (7-0), Micah Jordan (7-0) and Jake Ryan (9-0).
  • Four of Bo Jordan’s five wins this year have come via bonus points – two falls and two tech falls. Last week, he pinned Cleveland State’s Gabe Stark in just 28 seconds to reach the 50-win mark in his career.
  • Bo’s brother, Micah, is 7-0 on the year with six wins coming by bonus points – three falls, one tech fall and two major decisions.
  • Six Buckeyes placed at last year’s CKLV Invitational, including four that are back in the lineup this year – Tomasello (third), DiJulius (third), Mark Martin (seventh) and Tavanello (fifth).

IN THE POLLS
Ohio State held steady this week at No. 3 in the USA Today/NWCA poll. The Buckeyes are one of four Big Ten schools in the top five, joined by No. 1 Penn State, No. 2 Iowa and No. 5 Nebraska. Overall, there are nine conference schools represented in the poll.

IN THE RANKINGS
Only three other schools have more wrestlers ranked in the top eight of their respective weight classes. In InterMat’s Tournament Index, Ohio State ranks No. 4 overall. The Buckeyes are seventh in the dual meet poll.

LAST YEAR AT THE CKLV INVITATIONAL
Logan Stieber won the 141-pound title, picking up his 100th career victory in the championship match, to highlight Ohio State’s efforts at the 33rd annual Cliff Keen Invitational. In the team standings, Ohio State finished second overall in a field that featured 11 ranked teams. The Buckeyes compiled 120 points, behind only top-ranked Minnesota. Virginia Tech was third with 110 points.

Other individual standouts for the Buckeyes included third-place showings from Nathan Tomasello, Johnni DiJulius and Kyle Snyder.

PLETCHER, CLEARY SIGN NLIs
Luke Pletcher | Latrobe, Pa./Greater Latrobe High School
Two-time Pennsylvania state champion and three-time finalist … two-time Super 32 champion … FloNational champ … consensus top-10 ranked recruit … rated as the No. 6 overall recruit nationally and No. 2 at 132 lbs. by FloWrestling … No. 8 overall prospect by InterMat … top-ranked recruit from the state of Pennsylvania.

Elijah Cleary | Winter Park, Fla./Lake Highland Prep
2015 Florida state champion at 160 pounds … 60-1 during the 2014-15 campaign … ranked No. 12 at 160 lbs. by InterMat and No. 16 by FloWrestling … will take part in the Journeymen High School All-Star Exhibition …

4X STATE CHAMPS
Winning one state title is hard enough, especially in a talent-rich state like Ohio. Ohio State, however, has four wrestlers on its roster that have four Ohio high school state championships to their credit:

Hunter Stieber (Monroeville HS): 2008-11
Nathan Tomasello Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy): 2010-13
Bo Jordan (St. Paris Graham HS): 2010-13
Micah Jordan (St. Paris Graham HS): 2011-14 

Additionally, the Jordan brothers boast 12 state titles between them – four individual and four as a team.