Buckeyes Hold Preliminary Wrestle-Offs

Oct. 23, 2015

RELATED INFO: Coaches Clinic | 2015-16 Schedule | 2015-16 Roster | Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Wrestling season is officially here. The defending national champions held preliminary wrestle-offs Friday afternoon, all leading up to final wrestle-offs inside French Fieldhouse on Thursday, Oct. 29 at 7:45 p.m.

The most lopsided victories came at 197 lbs., 141 lbs. (twice) and 133 lbs. At 197, Matthew O’Hara, a redshirt senior who wrestled in 13 matches last year, pinned Kadin Llewellyn, a true freshman from Perrysburg High School. Another true freshman, Ke-Shawn Hayes, shut out Sal Marandino at 141 pounds, 18-0. Also at 141, redshirt freshman Micah Jordan cruised past Mike Hozan, winning by technical fall, 27-9. Jordan went 31-3 last year in open tournaments while wrestling at 157 pounds.

Two more true freshmen picked up big victories on Friday - Kollin Moore won by decision over Josh Fox at 197 lbs while Jose Rodriguez piled up 17 points and won by tech fall over Stanley Hendricks, 17-1. A major decision (12-2) was picked up by redshirt freshman Thomas Haines at 285 pounds over Parker Knapp.

Other winners included J.P. Newton (165 lbs.), Jake Ryan (157 lbs.), Anthony DeCarlo (157 lbs.), Matt Davis (149 lbs.), Blake Riley-Hawkins (149 lbs.) , Jack Rozema (184 lbs.) and Seth Williams (165 lbs.).

Pairings for Thursday evenings wrestle-offs are listed below. The event is in conjunction with Ohio State’s annual coaches clinic. For more information on the coaches clinic, click here.

Ohio State’s regular season schedule kicks off Nov. 1 when Nathan Tomasello competes in the NWCA All-Star Classic. On Nov. 7, the Buckeyes will make the trip to Ypsilanti, Mich. for the Eastern Michigan Open.

197: Matthew O'Hara fall over Kadin Llewellyn
165: J.P. Newton dec. over Jeremy Scott - 6-2
157: Jake Ryan dec. over Cody Burcher - 5-2
157: Anthony DeCarlo dec. over Alex Sepeda - 5-3
149: Matt Davis dec. over Josh Powell - 5-1
149: Blake Riley-Hawkins dec. over Heath Phillibert - 4-1
141: Micah Jordan tech fall over Mike Hozan - 27-9
184: Jack Rozema dec over Sean Prather - 6-3
197: Kollin Moore dec. over Josh Fox - 10-4
141: Ke-Shawn Hayes tech. fall over Sal Marandino - 18-0
133: Jose Rodriguez tech. fall over Stanley Hendricks - 17-1
285: Thomas Haines major dec. over Parker Knapp - 12-2
165: Seth Williams dec. over J.P. Newton - 8-3

125: Nathan Tomasello vs. Mike Manuche
133: Jose Rodriguez vs. Johnni DiJulius
141: Micah Jordan vs. Ke-Shawn Hayes
149: Blake Riley-Hawkins vs. Matt Davis
157: Jake Ryan vs. Anthony DeCarlo
165: Seth Williams vs. Justin Kresevic
174: Bo Jordan vs. Jacob Bresciani
174: Myles Martin vs. Dominic Prezzia
184: Kenny Courts vs. Jack Rozema
197: Mark Martin vs. Kollin Moore
285: Nick Tavanello vs. Thomas Haines