Buckeyes Celebrate 2012-13 Campaign

Go Buckeyes! Freshman of the Year honors was presented to Mark Martin
Go Buckeyes!
Freshman of the Year honors was presented to Mark Martin
Go Buckeyes!

May 1, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State wrestling team held its annual team banquet Sunday April 28 at the Ohio Union on The Ohio State University campus. Several Buckeyes were recognized for their efforts during the 2012-13 season, including two-time NCAA champion and redshirt sophomore Logan Stieber, who was name the Tommy Rowlands Outstanding Wrestler.

Stieber’s younger brother, Hunter Stieber, a third-place finisher at the 2013 NCAA Championships and two-time All-American, was recognized as Ohio State’s Most Courageous. A pair of Buckeyes in Peter Capone and Josh Demas was heralded with Most Improved laurels. Capone, a redshirt junior, suffered a season-ending injury in Ohio State’s regular-season home finale vs. Penn State Feb. 10. Prior to the setback, Capone appeared to be on his way to earning a bid into the NCAA championships, but was forced to end the season with a 17-6 record. Compiling a 20-12 record, Demas earned a second trip to the NCAA championships in March as a redshirt sophomore.

Freshman of the Year honors was presented to Mark Martin. An NCAA championships qualifier, Martin opened the tournament in impressive fashion. Drawing No. 1 seed and eventual four-time NCAA champion Kyle Dake of Cornell in the opening round, Martin wrestled Dake to a scoreless first and second period. Despite dropping a 3-0 decision to Dake, Martin rebounded with back-to-back wins before concluding his inaugural season as a Buckeye with a 19-18 record.

Redshirt freshman Kyle Visconti earned the Battling Buckeye award and senior Nikko Triggas was honored with the Mendoza Leadership accolade. Triggas concluded his Buckeye career as a four-time NCAA championships qualifier and 2010 All-American. The Moraga, Calif., native also ended his career tied for second place in the Ohio State records book for falls with 47.



During the season, one Buckeye was honored as the Russ Hellickson Outstanding Wrestler of the match at the conclusion of five home matches.

2012-13 Russ Hellickson Outstanding Wrestler of the Match
Nov. 18 vs. Pittsburgh – Logan Stieber
Dec. 14 vs. Kent State – Kenny Courts and Nick Heflin
Jan. 11 vs. Minnesota – Nikko Triggas
Feb. 1 vs. Illinois – Kenny Courts
Feb. 10 vs. Penn State – Cam Tessari

The Ohio State wrestling program also recognized and thanked several Buckeye supporters who served as honorary coaches during the season.

2012-13 Ohio State Wrestling Honorary Coaches
Nov. 18 vs. Pittsburgh – Dr. Thomas Ryan
Dec. 14 vs. Kent State – Chris Willertz
Jan. 11 vs. Minnesota – Al Melchiori
Feb. 1 vs. Illinois – Hal Hawk
Feb. 10 vs. Penn State – Sam and Albert Covelli and Tommy Rowlands