Stieber Tabbed As AWN Pound For Pound Winner

April 13, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio -- NCAA champion Logan Stieber has been named the first-ever Pound for Pound Award Winner by the Amateur Wrestling News, the organization announced today.

Amateur Wrestling News published a feature this year that listed who the staff felt were the nation's top ten wrestlers each issue regardless of weight class. Stieber was the #1 ranked wrestler on the list from the start of the season to the end.

Three weeks ago, Stieber became the fourth all-time Division I wrestler to win four NCAA champioships in his career when he defeated Edinboro's Mitchell Port, 11-5, for the 141-pound championship. Stieber, whose career record is 119-3, also won NCAA titles at 133 pounds in 2012 (vs. Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State) and 2013 (vs. Tony Ramos, Iowa) and a third at 141 pounds in 2014 (vs. Devin Carter, Virginia Tech). He finished his senior season with 10 pins, eight technical falls four major decisions on his way to being named the NCAA's Most Dominant Wrestler, NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler and Ohio State's first-ever Dan Hodge Trophy winner.

The list of Stieber's career accomplishments include:

  • The first wrestler in the history of the Big Ten conference to win four national titles.
  • With a 16-1 tech fall win over Iowa's Josh Dziewa in the finals, became the first Ohio State wrestler to ever win four Big Ten titles.
  • Finished his career on a 50-match winning streak dating back to December, 2013.
  • Fastest Buckeye to ever reach the 100-win milestone (103 matches).
  • Winning percentage ranks first in Ohio State history (.975).
  • 50 career falls, tied for the most in school history.
  • Just the second wrestler ever to win four CKLV titles.
  • Big Ten Most Outstanding Wrestler and Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Big Ten Championships.
  • At the 2015 NCAA Championships, won four of five matches by a combined score of 57-9 and added a first period pinfall in his other win.
  • 96 of Stieber's 119 wins at Ohio State were bonus point wins.
  • Became only the second wrestler in history to win both the Hodge and Jr. Dan Hodge Trophy, given to the top high school wrestler in the country.

Led by Stieber, Ohio State captured its first ever team National Championship, toping second-place Iowa to 18 points at the NCAA Championships.