Ryan Named 2015 InterMat Coach of the Year

April 6, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Add 2015 InterMat Coach of the Year to the list of postseason awards for Ohio State's Tom Ryan. Ryan, who just completed his ninth season at the helm of the Buckeye program and led the team to the program's first-ever national championship, was named the publications top coach today.

This is the third time Ryan has been named InterMat Coach of the Year, becoming the first coach to be so honored with three such awards. He previously earned the honor in 2008 and 2009.

Presented each year since 2006 to the best college coach in all divisions, the award is based solely on the balloting of writers and executives at InterMat. Ryan received seven of the ten first-place ballots, for a total of 76 votes.

"If there is one word that characterizes Tom Ryan in regards to the Ohio State wrestling teams' run at the NCAA title, it would have to be 'belief,'" said InterMat staff writer Tom Franck. "The mastermind of the Buckeye program had been publicly vocal for the past two years that he believed with every fiber of his being that his team could win the national championship in 2015. Making that a reality was in no small part due to Coach Ryan's ability to sell that belief to all around him."

The Big Ten Coach of the Year and National Wrestling Coaches Association Coach of the Year, Ryan is 113-42 during his time in Columbus. He has coached four different student-athletes to seven national titles, including four-time champion Logan Stieber and redshirt freshman Nathan Tomasello, who won the first of his career this year at 125 lbs.

The Ryan-led Buckeyes had three finalists and two national champions this year and claimed the first team title in the 94-year history of the program.