Stieber a Finalist for the Hodge Trophy

March 24, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio - Four-time national champion Logan Stieber is a finalist for the Hodge Trophy, considered to be the Heisman Trophy of wrestling.

For the third straight year, fans are being asked to help select the winner from the four finalists. The winner will be announced on Monday, March 30. The winner of the fan vote will earn two first-place votes among the total ballots from a group of formal voters which includes each former Hodge Trophy winner, national media, representatives of national wrestling organizations and retired former college coaches from different regions. The deadline to vote is Thursday, March 26 at noon EST.

The award is named after Dan Hodge, the former three-time (1955-57) NCAA champion from the University of Oklahoma, who did not allow a takedown in his career and pinned 36 of 46 opponents.

Stieber became the fourth all-time Division I wrestler to win four NCAA championships in his career when he defeated Edinboro's Mitchell Port, 11-5, for the 141-pound championship. Stieber, whose career record is 119-3, also won NCAA titles at 133 pounds in 2012 (vs. Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State) and 2013 (vs. Tony Ramos, Iowa) and a third at 141 pounds in 2014 (vs. Devin Carter, Virginia Tech). He finished his senior season with 10 pins, eight technical falls four major decisions on his way to being named the NCAA's Most Dominant Wrestler and the NWCA Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Led by Stieber, Ohio State captured its first-ever team National Championship, toping second-place Iowa to 18 points at last week's NCAA Championships.