NCAA Championships Up Next for Buckeyes

March 17, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ten members of the Ohio State wrestling team will travel to St. Louis, Mo. Tuesday for the 2015 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships at the Scottrade Center. The event will begin Thursday at noon ET starting with preliminary action and will conclude at 8 p.m. ET Saturday with the finals. Representing the Buckeye contingent at the 2015 edition of the championships are Nathan Tomasello (125 pounds), Johnni DiJulius (133 pounds), Logan Stieber (141 pounds), Hunter Stieber (149 pounds), Josh Demas (157 pounds), Bo Jordan (165 pounds), Mark Martin (174 pounds), Kenny Courts (184 pounds), Kyle Snyder (197 pounds) and Nick Tavanello (HWT).

Schedule of Events (All Times Eastern)

Thursday, March 19
First Session - Noon
Pigtails & First Round
Second Session - 7 p.m.
Wrestlebacks Pigtails, Wrestleback First Round & Second Round

Friday, March 20
Third Session - 11 a.m.
Quarterfinals & Wrestleback Second and Third Rounds
Fourth Session - 8 p.m.
Semifinals & Wrestleback Fourth and Fifth Rounds

Saturday, March 21
Fifth Session - 11 a.m.
Wrestleback Semifinals & Third, Fifth and Seventh-Place Rounds
Sixth Session - 8 p.m.
Championships Finals

ESPN will provide comprehensive coverage of the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships from the Scottrade Center in St. Louis from March 19-21. For the second consecutive year, all six sessions will be televised and every match carried on ESPN3 throughout the entire three-day competition.

ESPN will televise the semifinals (March 20) and finals (March 21) in prime time and ESPNU will televise the first, second (March 19) and quarterfinals (March 20), in addition to the medal round (March 21). ESPN3 will carry individual mat feeds throughout the entire tournament including the return of Off the Mat during the Championships finals. Additionally, for computer users, ESPN3 will once again offer multi-mat, simultaneous viewing which allows fans to watch up to four different mats at one time.

Ohio State boasts five Buckeyes who earned Top 5 seeds in Nathan Tomasello, Johnni DiJulius, Logan Stieber, Bo Jordan and Kyle Snyder. Stieber, a 141-pounder from Monroeville, Ohio, earned the No. 1 seed after securing his fourth Big Ten title on March 8. A three-time national champion, Stieber is 24-0 on the season. Tomasello, a redshirt freshman, also won a Big Ten title on March 8 and is 28-4 on the season. Snyder and Jordan were Big Ten finalists while DiJulius was fourth at 133 pounds. Overall, seven of Ohio State's 10 wrestlers at the NCAA Championships are seeded.

Redshirt-senior Logan Stieber is the most dominant wrestler in NCAA Division I, the NCAA announced last week. Stieber, who averages 5.0 points per match, leads second-place heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski of North Carolina State (4.64 points/match) and Oklahoma State 165-pounder Alex Dieringer (4.60 points/match) . The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points awarded per match are as follows: *Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss) *Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss) * Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss) *Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss).

In the 94-year history of Ohio State wrestling, the Buckeyes boast 84 All-America selections and 16 individual national champions, including recent three-time champion Logan Stieber. Stieber is seeking to become just the fourth wrestler in history to win four NCAA titles, joining Kyle Dake (Cornell, 2010-13), Cael Sanderson (Iowa State, 1999-2002) and Pat Smith (Oklahoma State, 1990-92, 1994).

Ohio State's best performances as a team at the NCAA championships were back-to-back runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009. Backed by three finalists and two national champions in J Jaggers (141 pounds) and Mike Pucillo (184 pounds), the Buckeyes earned their highest placing at nationals in program history in 2008. J.D. Bergman was the heavyweight runner-up.

In 2009, the Scarlet and Gray were 4.5 points short of winning the title, as Iowa edged Ohio State 96.5-92. Jaggers became Ohio State's first two-time titlist since Tommy Rowlands in 2002 and 2004 and third overall (Kevin Randleman in 1992 and 1993). Reece Humphrey and Mike Pucillo were the 133 and 184-pound runners-up, respectively.

Ninth-year Ohio State head coach Tom Ryan was named the Big Ten's Coach of the Year following the conclusion of the conference championships two weeks ago.

Ryan, who is 113-42 at Ohio State and 222-126-1 overall including eighth years at Hofstra, led the Buckeyes to their first conference title in 64 years.