No. 6 Buckeyes Travel to Big Ten Championships

March 7, 2013

PDF Notes | BracketsChampionship Central | Live Streaming | Live Results | Facebook | Twitter



No. 6 Ohio State (11-4; 5-3 Big Ten) at 2013 Big Ten Championships
Host: Illinois
Saturday, March 9-Sunday, March 10
Assembly Hall Champaign, Ill.
Broadcast: BTN-2:30 p.m. ET Sunday; Championship Finals
Talent: Jim Gibbons, Tim Johnson and Shane Sparks

2013 Big Ten Wrestling Championships
Schedule of Events (All Times Eastern)

Saturday, March 9
10 a.m. - Doors Open
11 a.m. - Session I
6 p.m. - Session II

Sunday, March 10
11:30 a.m. - Doors Open
12:30 p.m. - Session III
2:30 p.m. - Championship Finals

Ohio State Lineup (Overall Record; Big Ten Record)
125 - Nikko Triggas, Sr., Moraga, Calif. (17-10; 4-4)
133 - Logan Stieber, R-So., Monroeville, Ohio (19-0; 3-0)
141 - Hunter Stieber, So., Monroeville, Ohio (27-0; 8-0)
149 - Ian Paddock, R-Jr., Warsaw, N.Y. (14-4; 0-2)
157 - Josh Demas, R-So., Columbus, Ohio (16-8; 3-5)
165 - Mark Martin, Fr., Strongsville, Ohio (15-13; 2-5)
174 - Nick Heflin, R-Jr., Massillon, Ohio (12-3; 6-2)
184 - C.J. Magrum, Sr., Oak Harbor, Ohio (13-5; 3-3)
197 - Andrew Campolattano, So., Bound Brook, N.J. (15-8; 3-2)
HWT - Kosta Karageorge, R-So., Worthington, Ohio (9-6; 0-1)

COLUMBUS, Ohio- The No. 6 Ohio State wrestling team will travel to Champaign, Ill., for the 2013 Big Ten Championships Saturday and Sunday in Assembly Hall. The Buckeyes concluded the regular season with an 11-4 overall record and 5-3 mark in the Big Ten.

That's a Wrap
Ohio State ended the 2013 regular season No. 6 in the USA Today/NWCA/AWN Division I Coaches Poll. The Buckeyes collected 343 points to cap the regular season. Minnesota (16-2) claimed the top spot with 397 points, while Oklahoma State was second (17-1) with 387 points. Penn State (13-1) rounded out the Top 3 after securing 384 points. Missouri (15-3; 370 points) and Iowa (20-3; 362 points) are fourth and fifth, respectively.

Broadcast Alert
The championship finals of the Big Ten championships will air live on BTN at 2:30 p.m. ET. Fans also can watch the championships on the go via BTN2Go, which is a digital extension of the Big Ten Network. BTN2Go delivers live and on-demand programming to existing BTN subscribers via the web, as well as to iPhone and iPad users. For more information, click HERE.

Fans also can watch the first two sessions and the medal rounds of the final session live via web streaming on

Championships Pre-Seeds
Five Buckeyes earned a Top 5 pre-seed for the 2013 Big Ten Championships. Hunter Stieber and Logan Stieber will enter the championships, taking place at Assembly Hall in Champaign, Ill., as the No. 1 seeds at 141 and 133 pounds, respectively.

2013 Big Ten Championships Pre-Seeds
125 - No. 5 Nikko Triggas
133 - No. 1 Logan Stieber
141 - No. 1 Hunter Stieber
157 - No. 6 Josh Demas
165 - No. 9 Mark Martin
174 - No. 4 Nick Heflin
184 - No. 8 C.J. Magrum
197 - No. 4 Andrew Campolattano

Stat Leaders
Among regular-season starters, sophomore Hunter Stieber paces the Buckeyes in wins with 27. Stieber, who amassed a 14-0 dual record, including an 8-0 mark in the Big Ten, also leads Ohio State in major decisions with 10. Hunter's older brother and redshirt sophomore, Logan Stieber, owns the team lead in falls with 10 and is tied for the team lead in technical falls with redshirt freshman Kenny Courts with five each. Senior Nikko Triggas is second on the team in falls with nine. Redshirt junior Nick Heflin (6-2) collected six Big Ten wins this season, second behind Hunter's team best eight victories.

Most Dominant
Redshirt sophomore Logan Stieber continues to lead the field as the Most Dominant NCAA Wrestler, the NCAA announced Feb. 27. The Buckeye 133-pounder has a 5.4444 average, while Dustin Kilgore (197 pounds) of Kent State is second with a 5.1143 average. Stieber also is seventh among Division I wrestlers in falls with 10 for a total time of 22:49.

Stieber Fever
Logan and Hunter Stieber remain undefeated on the season with 19-0 and 27-0 records, respectively. After missing five consecutive matches in January, Logan Stieber returned to action vs. No. 6 Illinois Feb. 1 in Oak Harbor, Ohio, and pinned No. 8 Daryl Thomas in 2:04. Eighty-nine percent of Logan Stieber's wins in 2012-13 have been bonus point victories. With a 19-0 record, 10 wins have been pins, five technical falls and two major decisions. Hunter Stieber's 27 victories is a team best and his 10 major decisions pace the squad.

On the Rise
Senior Nikko Triggas recorded his eighth and ninth falls of the season in January at Indiana and vs. Wisconsin. For his career, Triggas, a native of Moraga, Calif., has 46 falls, which ranks him third all-time at Ohio State.

Buckeyes at the Big Ten Championships
Ohio State has won two Big Ten championships in program history. The Buckeyes' first title was won in 1923 and their second in 1951. Individually, the Scarlet and Gray has crowned 35 individual conference champions, most recently Logan Stieber (133 pounds) last year. Stieber, also the 2013 NCAA champion, was named to the All-Big Ten team and earned Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors.

Did You Know?
Assistant coach J Jaggers, a Buckeye letterwinner from 2006-09 and two-time NCAA champion at 141 pounds in 2008 and 2009, recorded the second-fastest fall all-time at the Big Ten championships. Jaggers pinned Purdue's Nick Bertucci in 25 seconds in the second-round consolation match in 2007.

Big Ten Championships - 2012 Edition
Logan Stieber, a redshirt freshman for No. 7 Ohio State, was crowned the 2012 Big Ten Champion at 133 pounds March 4 at Mackey Arena in West Lafayette, Ind. The No. 1 seed, Stieber's team-leading 28th win on the season was a 5-2 decision over No. 2 seed Tony Ramos of Iowa.

"I just relaxed out there," Stieber, the 2012 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, said. "He took me down early, but I stayed in my offense. It was a tough match, but it was fun."

Backed by nine Buckeyes who placed in the Top 8, including third-place finisher Hunter Stieber (141 pounds), Ohio State finished fifth with 91 points. Penn State won the team title after amassing 149 points, while Minnesota finished second (134). Iowa (126) rounded out the Top 3.

Division I Qualifier Allocations
The NCAA released the Division I Wrestling Qualifier Allocations Feb. 28 and the Big Ten Conference earned a total of 74 spots in the 2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa March 21-23. The Big Ten leads all conferences.

Following all the NCAA championships qualifying events, the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee will meet to select the remaining 40 at-large qualifiers, which will be announced March 13. Each weight class will feature 33 wrestlers.

NCAA Coaches' Panel Rankings and RPI
Nine Buckeyes are ranked in the Top 33 in either/both the final RPI or NCAA Coaches' rankings, the NCAA announced Feb. 28.

125 - No. 17 Nikko Triggas
133 - No. 1 Logan Stieber
141 - No. 2 Hunter Stieber
149 - No. 18 Cam Tessari
157 - No. 18 Josh Demas
197 - No. 8 Andrew Campolattano
HWT - No. 8 Peter Capone

Coaches' Rankings
125 - No. 13 Nikko Triggas
133 - No. 1 Logan Stieber
141 - No. 2 Hunter Stieber
149 - No. 14 Cam Tessari
157 - No. 22 Josh Demas
174 - No. 6 Nick Heflin
184 - No. 21 C. J. Magrum
197 - No. 15 Andrew Campolattano
HWT - No. 13 Peter Capone

Up Next
Ohio State will travel to Des Moines, Iowa, for the 2013 NCAA Championships March 21-23 at Wells Fargo Arena.