Postseason Begins for Buckeyes By Hosting B1G Championships

March 5, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio - The fifth-ranked Ohio State wrestling team will host the 101st edition of the Big Ten Championships Saturday and Sunday at St. John Arena. The Buckeyes, who won nine of their last 10 matches to conclude the regular season, finished the campaign with a 13-4 overall record and 8-1 mark in the conference.

For more information regarding the 2014 Big Ten Championships, including ticket information, click on the Tournament Central page.

2015 Big Ten Championships Schedule of Events
Saturday, March 7
Session 1: 10 a.m. ET
Session 2: 6 p.m. ET

Sunday, March 8
Session 3: 1 p.m. ET
Session 4: 3 p.m. ET

With multiple events occurring on the Ohio State campus this weekend, fans should allow for extra travel time and anticipate increased traffic. See the links above for a comprehensive parking map for the weekend.

Fans can log on to BTN+ account to watch live streaming of wrestling action beginning at 10 a.m. ET Saturday. The first day of action will feature four mats. Sunday, there will be three mats showcasing Big Ten wrestling starting at 1 p.m. ET live on BTN+. BTN will take over live coverage beginning at approximately 3:10 p.m. as it will feature the championship bouts. Live scoring will also be available all weekend via TrackWrestling. Twitter updates can be found on the team's official account, @wrestlingbucks

The 2015 Big Ten Championships Pre-Seeds were released Monday and three Buckeyes in Logan Stieber, Bo Jordan and Kyle Snyder earned the No. 1 seeds at 141, 165 and 197 pounds, respectively. Stieber, a senior from Monroeville, Ohio, currently boasts a 21-0 overall record and is a three-time conference champion. Jordan, a redshirt freshman from St. Paris, Ohio, is 16-0 this year and 39-0 on his Buckeye career. Snyder, a true freshman from Woodbine, Md., is 24-2 this year and has not lost a match since January, going 8-1 in Big Ten dual matches.

Ohio State Pre-Seeds
125 - No. 3 Nathan Tomasello (24-4)
133 - No. 4 Johnni DiJulius (23-4)
141 - No. 1 Logan Stieber (21-0)
149 - No. 3 Hunter Stieber (1-2)
157 - No. 6 Josh Demas (12-5)
165 - No. 1 Bo Jordan (16-0)
174 - No. 6 Mark Martin (15-9)
184 - No. 5 Kenny Courts (19-6)
197 - No. 1 Kyle Snyder (24-4)
285 - No. 9 Nick Tavanello (13-8)

Ohio State concluded the regular season winning nine of its last 10 matches. During this span, the Buckeyes outscored their opponents, 251-132, and scored 33 bonus point wins compared to their opponents' five major decisions, two technical falls and one fall.

In the latest edition of the Division I Coaches Panel Rankings released Feb. 12, eight Buckeyes are slated to advance to the NCAA Championships March 19-21 at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mizzouri. Wrestlers are judged in each weight class by winning percentage, RPI and coaches rankings. So far, Nathan Tomasello (125 pounds), Johnni DiJulius (133 pounds), Logan Stieber (141 pounds), Bo Jordan (165 pounds), Mark Martin (174 pounds), Kenny Courts (184 pounds), Kyle Snyder (197 pounds) and Nick Tavanello (285 pounds) are on the list.

Redshirt-senior Logan Stieber is the most dominant wrestler in NCAA Division I, the NCAA announced last week. Stieber, who averages 5.1 points per match, leads second-place heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski of North Carolina State (4.63 points/match) and Oklahoma State 165-pounder Alex Dieringer (4.62 points/match) . The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points awarded per match are as follows: *Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss) *Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss) * Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss) *Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

Stieber is fifth in Division I wrestling in technical falls with nine and seventh in falls with five.

Ohio State has captured the Big Ten title twice - 1923 and 1951. In all, 26 Buckeyes have won 39 Big Ten individual titles with Logan Stieber the most recent three-time champion (twice at 133 lbs., once at 141). Two seasons ago, Stieber was joined by his brother Hunter Stieber (141 pounds) as a conference champion. In 2012, Logan Stieber became the third Buckeye to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year as Jim Johnson was honored in 1995 and Tommy Rowlands in 2001.

The third-ranked Ohio State wrestling team saw its nine-match winning streak come to an end on Saturday in the quarterfinal round of the 2015 NWCA National Duals. The Buckeyes fell 21-18 to No. 11 Lehigh, as the match came down the final bout at heavyweight between Lehigh's Douglas Vollaro and Ohio State's Nick Tavanello. Vollaro scored a 4-2 sudden victory decision, giving the Mountain Hawks the three points they needed to advance to the semifinal round.