Big Ten Wrestling Championships Brackets Announced

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

March 5, 2004

Columbus, Ohio - The Ohio State wrestling team (8-11, 4-4 Big Ten) will welcome the 2004 Big Ten Championships field to Columbus, Ohio and St. John Arena Saturday and Sunday as the Buckeyes serve as host to the event for the first time since 1993. The official brackets for the event, which begins at 11 a.m. Saturday, were determined and released Friday.

Ohio State senior HWT Tommy Rowlands quest for his second career Big Ten crown will begin in the second round Saturday as he awaits the winner of the first round bout between No. 8 Ryan Fuller of Iowa and Jareck Horton of Wisconsin.

Fellow senior 165 John Clark serves as the second Buckeye to earn a No. 1 slot and also received a first round bye, leading to a second round match up with No. 8 Jarrad Turner of Penn State.

Two additional seniors staked to No. 4 seeds as Jeff Ratliff will await a 149 first round bout between No. 5 Anton Deitzen of Illinois and unseeded Cameron Sakon of Indiana. Ratliff scored wins via technical fall and decision over Deitzen in the regular season. Fellow No. 4, Blake Kaplan, searches for a rematch with No. 5 Paul Bradley of Iowa in the second round. Kaplan must first get by Andy Rios of Indiana, who he defeated Jan. 3 via fall, to earn a shot at avenging a 5-3 loss to Bradley in the dual at Iowa Feb. 20.

Also seeking to avenge a loss to a previous opponent is Buckeye freshman 197 J.D. Bergman, who is set to face Jason Potter of Illinois. Bergman has suffered a pair of defeats to Potter this season via decision.

Ohio State wrestlers Jesse Leng and Anthony Magistrelli also received seeds. Magistrelli is in line to face No. 1 Tyler Nixt of Iowa at 174 if he defeats Michigan State's Anton Hall in round one. Leng faces a test in Illinois No. 3 Mark Jayne at 133 pounds. Leng dropped a 12-5 decision to Jayne earlier in the season.

The championships begin at 11 a.m. Saturday in St. John Arena and continue through the finals at 2 p.m. Sunday. Last year, Minnesota (126.5 points) held off Iowa (121 points) last year to capture the 2003 team title. The Buckeyes placed eighth, which served as the first time they had finished outside the Top 5 in the conference in the last three seasons.

Complete brackets are available in pdf. format at